Daily post: Q&A – Take your pick

DAILY PROMPT: I HAVE CONFIDENCE IN ME
Are you good at what you do? What would you like to be better at.

Q: Are you good at what you do?

A1: How would I know? Can we ever be objective about ourselves? And if we’re me, do we ever pause long enough in daily beatings of self over perceived shortcomings to recognise achievements?

A2: Not good enough, obviously. If I were, I’d have agents clamouring to publish my novel and bloggers falling over themselves to slurp up my pearls/rubies/diamonds of immortal wisdom/insight/superlative nuance. Ain’t hapnin’, folks, so there’s your answer.

A3: Yes, I’m brilliant. Unrecognised, but undoubtedly brilliant.

Q: What would you like to be better at?

A: Blowing my own trumpet. Those whose egos play virtuoso trumpet with flair, panache and maximum volume inevitably take over the world.

But do I want to take over the world?

No, not really. Far too tiring. And besides, then I’d never know for sure if was good at anything (except trumpet-blowing), or whether I’d achieved stuff simply because I’d taken over the world.

See? One of those eternal questions…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/24/daily-prompt-confident/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily post: Q&A – Take your pick

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Have Confidence in Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Self confidence | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Monicle says:

    We certainly have similar outlooks!
    I’m still new and can’t figure out pingbacks. How does it work? Do I copy my URL here? How do I get them on my page? I’ve been to ‘help’ but it doesn’t help.

  4. Well … I keep reading what you want. If that counts for anything. I do not read everyone and especially, don’t CONTINUE to read everyone.

  5. what you WRITE not WANT. Oof.

  6. Pingback: I can do this…I CAN do this…I CAN DO THIS! | The Hempstead Man

  7. lifelessons says:

    I was trying to figure out your comment, Marilyn. It sounded entirely too docile for you!!!!

Leave a Reply

