Daily prompt: Pick a mould, any mould…

DAILY PROMPT: STYLE ICON
Describe your personal style, however you’d like to interpret that — your clothing style, your communication style, your hair style, your eating style, anything.

Depends on the day, really. Half-set jelly springs to mind – the Australian sort, not the American. Pour it into a mould, and a few hours later, there it is, any shape you want.

My writing style can vary from quasi-erudite to doggerel verse or Oz gung-ho, I can scrub up quite well if the occasion demands, and I can probably still bung on intelligent sophistication if really pressed, although it’s many years since I had to make the effort. These are the benefits of an interesting and unusual childhood, combined with a low boredom threshold and the innate characteristics of a three-toed sloth.

It wouldn’t surprise me if residents of my current hometown regarded me as part mad lady (when my hair needs cutting and I’m tired, so my right eye droops) and part bag lady without the bags. Clean bag lady, though: as my mother would have said, we have our pride, which in my case precludes my venturing forth with coffee drips on my t-shirt, but doesn’t apply to the fashion rating of the shirt itself, be it ever so faded. (Clothes were introduced to keep us warm and/or decent. Where does it say they have to be replaced with new ones every season? Even if I had the money, which I don’t.)

Nevertheless given the boredom threshold, I do enjoy dressing up occasionally. Partly because (again), we have our pride and the bag-lady look doesn’t cut it at weddings, and partly because it shocks the pants off those who’ve never seen it, or forgotten it’s possible.

I might be past my prime, if I ever had one, but I’m not dead yet.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/daily-prompt-style-2/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily prompt: Pick a mould, any mould…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Boots! | Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  3. Pingback: Boots! | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a Reply

