Daily prompt: Priorities

DAILY PROMPT: MIRROR, MIRROR
Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

When I look in the mirror – usually for the purposes of removing eyelash from eye, checking basic decency of attire etc – I see me.

Whether it matches the me inside is a purely academic question, and not one I ask myself. My body is there to carry me about, take me where I want to go and do what I want to do, and as long as it keeps obeying instructions, we continue to have a satisfactory working arrangement.

As for the rest – we severed communications when I was about 16. Our relationship is now reasonably amicable, but distant. I feed it when it needs to be fed: otherwise it threatens to fall over. I wash it, clothe it, tart up its face when necessary to meet social criteria, and have its hair cut for similar reasons. Anything extra is a bonus.

Yes, it’s getting older, but so am I, and if the price you pay for learning a thing or two is the acquisition of grey hair and wrinkles… Hey, what do you get for nothing?

As for the importance of appearances – clean is essential. Appropriate follows hard on its heels. Much as I enjoy comfortably scruffy, there are certain venues and occasions when scruffy just doesn’t cut it. In fact it’s downright insulting. Do something about it. If I can, so can you.

To those whose appearance severely impacts on their self-confidence and attitude to life – I truly sympathise. If surgery can help – go for it. But as for the nip, tuck, facelift and liposuction brigade – haven’t you got anything more important to think about?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/daily-prompt-mirrored/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Daily prompt: Priorities

  1. Noah Weiss says:

    I like the personification of your “inside” and “outside” and the split after the age of 16. That was very creative.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror – WHAT YOU LOOKIN’ AT? | Phoenix Fights

  3. Pingback: I wanna eat french fries | I am Lynn

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords

  7. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  8. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries

  9. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  10. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 25] Recommendations | Never A Worry

  11. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  12. Pingback: Daily prompt: Making a connection with me | helen meikle's scribblefest

Leave a Reply

