Daily prompt: Or not…

DAILY PROMPT: NICE IS AS NICE DOES
Tell us about the nicest thing you’ve ever done.

Who’s deluding who, here? (Or whom, if you want to be pedantic, but it doesn’t have quite the same ring.)

Is this a prompt posted with tongue firmly wedged between molars in the hope of getting us hapless bloggers to make fools of ourselves, or are we (the hapless bloggers) lying through our incisors in the hope of eliciting favourable attention?

Either way, it isn’t a prompt that gives me the warm fuzzies.

Am I kind? Do I do ‘nice’ things? (nice being a word my English teacher attacked with vicious red pen, although I admit there are sometime no viable alternatives.)

Answer: How the hell would I know? I do my best, but I don’t exactly sit here totting up the Brownie points, assuming there are any to tot – and again, how the hell would I know? It’s not like I go round asking for testamonials.

There is, of course, the other meaning of ‘nice’. I like that one. My learned friend makes a nice point, Your Honour… Meaning subtle. But I doubt that’s what today’s prompt had in mind.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/daily-prompt-kindness-2/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily prompt: Or not…

  1. M. R. says:

    By all the gods, Helen – I believe I’ve come across someone grumpier than me! Hooray! 😀

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Daily prompt: Nice as nice does | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice as Nice Does | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: AN UNDERSTANDING SMILE | hastywords

  7. Pingback: Nice is as nice does | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

