Daily prompt: Peacefully on the outer

DAILY PROMPT: BFFS
What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned from the person you’re the closest to?

If I’ve got the definition right, I don’t have a BFF.

If I’m allowed to count family, I’ve got several, all best, all friends and all forever. They’re the only people I’m likely to spill my guts to, although gut-spilling isn’t one of my regular pastimes. They have taught me most of the things I know about myself, pointed out my shortcomings (always kindly), and cultivated any new growth I might have sprouted.

As for the rest – friends: yes. BFFs: no. I think I’m by nature what a friend of my sister’s called ‘outer periphery.’

It’s very peaceful.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/28/daily-prompt-friends/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily prompt: Peacefully on the outer

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: BFFs | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Fran Macilvey says:

    Dear Helen

    I love your writing! XX :-))

  3. Pingback: No Words Are Needed | Scribbled Posts

Leave a Reply

