Daily prompt: It’s raining on Pollyanna Rock

DAILY PROMPT: MONEY FOR NOTHING
If you’re like most of us, you need to earn money by working for a living. Describe your ultimate job. If you’re in your dream job, tell us all about it — what is it that you love? What fulfills you? If you’re not in your dream job, describe for us what your ultimate job would be.

I think I must be getting too old for this whole malarkey.

There’s no perfect job. There’s no perfect anything. We find happiness where we can. We make the best of it, put our best foot forward, look on the bright side – all of that. And for a lot of the time we fool ourselves that it’s all good, and for a lot of the time it is. Life is, after all, what you make it.

But there are days now when I feel…tired. Tired of fooling myself that I have anything to offer, or that I’ll ever write anything worth a damn. Tired of making my finances stretch too thin. Tired of my own company without knowing whose I want. Tired of seeing news stories of selfishness, greed, violence and senseless stupidity. Just…tired.

Today, Pollyanna Rock is sitting on sand.

Tomorrow will be different. Tomorrow I’ll bounce back. Tomorrow I’ll probably regret I posted this piece of self-indulgent whingeing and take it down.

But that’s tomorrow. Today I’ll read a book and pretend it isn’t happening.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/prompt-money-for-nothing/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Daily prompt: It’s raining on Pollyanna Rock

  1. The Scribe says:

    I’m sure you are not alone Helen. Don’t remove your post. Your honesty reminds me of all those mothers who pretend every minute of parenthood ( now there’s a job) is a profound merry-go-round of delights at every turn. Lets get real.

    • Thank you. I do know I’m not alone, and I’m profoundly grateful for it every day. As for motherhood – it’s the toughest job you’ll ever do, and anyone who says it’s all joy and delight is either lying or away with the pixies – the reality of it’s a balancing act, I think – but it’s also the most rewarding. (Pollyanna rides again, the obnoxious little brat.)

  2. I hear you loud and clear, Helen. If you take it down, fine. I’m just glad I got to read it.

  3. I’m glad I got to read it too. Makes me feel I’m not alone. 🙂

  4. Pingback: what i do for love | In The Moment

  5. Pingback: Jobs & Benefits | A mom's blog

  6. Then I’m glad I aired it. You’re certainly not alone.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Money for Nothing | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Trip the light fantastic | litadoolan

  10. litadoolan says:

    I love the sense of present and future and how the hopes flicker in that lens of time. To me there is much hope in this post!

  11. Relax says:

    Your post reminded me of what poet Robert Frost said, “In three words, I can sum up everything I know about life: It goes on.” Yep. Tomorrow looks better than today, lol.

  12. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Do Whatever Works For You” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

