Daily prompt: Probably depends on the day…

DAILY PROMPT: QUE SERA SERA
Do you believe in fate or do you believe you can control your own destiny?

A bit of both, I think.

I don’t for a minute imagine that fate/the universe/god or other gives a good goddamn what I have for breakfast, even if I’m about to ingest food poisoning. (If God’s eye is on the sparrow, He’s obviously too busy marshalling the worms…although hang on, doesn’t He have His eye on them as well? Who’d be God, for goodness sake!) But I do believe we all arrive here with lessons to learn, and if we open our minds to it, the universe is likely to nudge us in the right direction.

What we think we want, I’ve found, isn’t always what we need. Hard to take at the time, but it’s surprising how often crushing disappointment leads to something better.

I’ve also decided that if fate has pre-ordained my ultimate destiny, it’s not about to let me in on the secret anytime soon. Fine by me. If I knew I was due to die tomorrow, I’d be too busy sorting out the paperwork to enjoy to today.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/26/prompt-que-sera-sera/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily prompt: Probably depends on the day…

  1. Pingback: Life of Positivity | Views Splash!

  2. bkpyett says:

    Enjoyed your post Helen, especially about the paper work!

  3. I reckon I’ve been spat down here for punishment for something I did or didn’t do. ‘Snot fair. How am I supposed to defend myself unless I know what I’m meant to have done?!

    • Nah. Don’t believe in all that punishment stuff, myself. I mean, think about it. ‘Little Johnny died to punish me for having an affair.’ Where does that leave Little Johnny? Seems more likely to me (highly uneducated guess) that you’re busy learning to be you – who from what I’ve seen is pretty interesting!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – A Poetic Duet With A Shade Of Pen – “Destiny’s Kiss” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: Destiny’s Kiss « A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

