Daily prompt: A serious question

DAILY PROMPT: THE GREAT PRETENDER
Are you full of confidence or have you ever suffered from Imposter Syndrome? Tell us all about it.

Having read the definition of imposter syndrome, my immediate response is yep, that’s me.

But is anything that simple?

Because then, you see, I have to stop and ask myself if I’m having myself on. Is it that I’m unable to internalise my accomplishments, or that I haven’t had any to internalise? Yes, I’m reasonably intelligent, and pretty competent when I set my mind to it, but as for ‘proof of success’…

Take this blog, for example. I enjoy writing it, love reading other people’s posts, am overwhelmingly grateful to those who read and/or comment on mine. But there’s no denying the fact that in blogging terms, it’s a bit of a dud. Never once has it prompted the sort of response that flows into other people’s as a matter of course. So tell me, dear fellow bloggers: am I too boring? Too trite? Too brash? Do I come across as aggressive and arrogant? Intolerant and intimidating? Or am I just plain dull? Seriously, I want to know. Because sometimes – just sometimes – I look around and I think, ‘stop kidding yourself. You don’t belong here anymore than you’ve ever belonged anywhere else.’

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/prompt-the-great-pretender/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daily prompt: A serious question

  1. bkpyett says:

    Helen, I love your posts! They are professional and not dull in the least!
    I can relate to your comments; as sometimes I wonder why I bother, my blog isn’t exciting for the masses either!

  2. Pingback: Here I Come | Views Splash!

  3. Not so, my dear. You, like me, are not mass market fodder. We are not ‘sliced white’ bloggers at all. We are granary, ciabatta, sourdough (‘sour’ being the operative word for moi), and crusty cobs in so much as we might take some chewing but we’re always tasty and interesting and never soggy, flaccid, bland or pappy.
    We are not to be found on the supermarket shelves. We reside in the artisan ailse of Selfridges food hall, and come at a cost! But we are well worth the investment and effort.
    So, don’t you dare stop blogging, or I’ll just have to hunt you down and find you. And I have a LOT of time on my hands 😉 x

  4. Sorry, darlin’, but I must object. There is denying from this end of the keyboard. I love what sistaertraline said above. I think it is imperative that your voice be heard. To me, it provides balance to the smarmy fluffy stuff that clogs up the wires!

  5. Relax says:

    Well, you already know how I feel about your writing. Don’t ever go quiet unless you have to!! Cripe, a day without Helen is like a day without Helen, you know?

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Maggie – I’m honored to be the 1000th, all highly deserved!

  8. Pat(ricia) says:

    Well I’m relatively new to visiting your space, but I truly appreciate the content. It’s thoughtful, insightful, delightful – my many fulls here – and well, frankly, I appreciate the honesty, wit and sharpness of your writings Helen. Certainly never dull and I enjoy stopping by. Makes my day a better one, each and every time. 🙂 So, thank you and keep on blogging and sharing! Please?

  9. And you’ve made my day a better one! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

