Share your world: Week 19

Do you prefer shopping or going to a park?
It depends on the shopping…
Trips to the supermarket are so uninspiring, the cupboard is likely to be down to the lining paper before I can force myself to go. Buying clothes is torture. Shoes are worse. But put me in a bookshop with a fistful of money, and shivers of bliss sparkle all the way down my spine.
And on the park…

Knighton Park docbrown.info

Knighton Park
docbrown.info

An hour alone in your average suburban park is as thrilling as damp blotting paper, but a three-hour stroll through Knighton Park in Leicester was a whole holiday full of delightful surprises.

What is the highest score you’ve ever made in bowling? Actual or virtually played.
I’ve never been bowling. Don’t be so shocked! How many times have you been surfing?

Smoky Cape  beach

Smoky Cape beach

Name the foreign countries you’ve been to.
Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales, Singapore and New Zealand. Not as many as I’d have liked, but I started late, and the fares are fiendishly expensive – anywhere is a long way from Australia.

Describe your own outlook on life in seven words or less.
Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. (Sorry, it’s eight, but you can’t mangle a good quote for the sake of a word!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Share your world: Week 19

  1. I feel the same way about parks and shopping. I could spend a whole day in a book store and National Parks are gorgeous, those suburban parks are a little sad.
    Nice to meet you through Share you World! 🙂

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    It is a long way to anywhere from Australia. You picture placement was great. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. Martha Kennedy says:

    Amazing. This is my “mantra” — ” “Therfor nyle ȝe be bisy in to the morew, for the morew shal be bisi to hym silf; for it suffisith to the dai his owen malice. ” Matt. 6:34 I like the idea that a bad day actually has MALICE and WILL. It sure feels like that.

    • It does indeed. My father used to quote this on particularly bad days in a particularly bad period of my life, but it was no consolation then because I was pretty sure tomorrow would be equally malicious and wilful. These days I’m more philosophical about it.

      • Martha Kennedy says:

        I went through some hard scary times in 2009 due to the evil X and the economic crisis in the US. Remembering this verse and then saying it to myself at night actually helped me go to sleep.

Leave a Reply

