Share your world: Week 20

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
If you could go back and visit any time period, what time would you travel to and why?
The Georgian era in Britain. I could waffle on about the architecture (which I do rather like), the elegant minuet of life in the upper echelons, the social disparity that created two completely separate worlds… But really, it would all be smoke and mirrors to hide the fact that I’m an irredeemable Georgette Heyer addict. She is my version of comfort food. Feeling down? Anxious? Stressed? Read Georgette Heyer. Yes, I know it’s an unrealistic, one-sided picture, but who cares? It’s beautifully written, delightfully witty and perfect escapism.

If I did go back, though, it would have to be as a fly on the wall. I’d be a fool to opt for a life of poverty, and the top end of the spectrum would scare me witless. Although I suppose women were required to be witless, then… Unless you were a Georgette Heyer heroine.

If you could have three wishes granted for you alone, what would they be? This is a time for you to dream and have fun.
My first wish is fairly obvious – an agent, a publisher and readers for my novel. I don’t need fame and fortune, just the satisfaction of knowing that I’d provided people with a few hours’ entertainment.

Wish two? Enough money to buy each of my children a suitable house mortgage free, with a bit over to give them rainy-day money. (Note to self: buy lotto ticket!)

And thirdly – may the strong bond that exists between all of my family members live long and prosper.

Wanting something to quench your thirst, what would you drink?
Sparkling mineral water. It’s the sparkle that does it.

If you watch TV what are your favorite three television shows?
Mock the Week is a British topical comedy TV panel show hosted by Dara O Briain.
Would I Lie to You is also a British comedy TV panel show, this one hosted by Rob Brydon.
Both shows can make me laugh out loud.
Doc Martin. The cast and the setting are reasons enough, but the subtlety of Martin Clunes’ acting is breathtaking. His world can fall apart in his eyes alone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Share your world: Week 20

  1. bkpyett says:

    Most enjoyable reading Helen. Your 3 wishes sound just like mine!! Your 2nd two TV shows I really love, haven’t watched the first, so shall look out for it. Thank you yet again for an enjoyable read. What is your novel about and what is it called?

  2. ChristineR says:

    Oh gee, I haven’t read Georgette Heyer for decades. Love her books. [goes to make note to self in the ‘books to read’ wordpad document on desktop!]

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing with us this week.

Leave a Reply

