Daily prompt: Ha!

Daily Prompt
Set for Solstice
Today’s Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year (in the Northern Hemisphere). How are you taking advantage of the extra hours of light this time of year? Do you like it, or do you already miss earlier sunsets?

All very well for you and your summer solstice – your late sunsets – your ho ho ho how’s everyone enjoying it. Well let me tell you, there’s another side to this. Another side to the world, in fact, where:

wildlifeonline.me.uk

wildlifeonline.me.uk


• it’s Sunday
• it’s overcast
• it’s cold
• it’s bloody miserable
• I’m bored
• winter is eating into my soul
• and I’m thoroughly unimpressed.

So if you’re looking for a chirpy post about sum-sum-summertime , you’re in for a big and nasty surprise.

Yes, I’m a grown woman with plenty of options, lots to do, the capacity for constructive thought and no excuse. But it’s WINTER! The fog of inertia has seeped into my brain like a grey scrim between me and excitement – me and enthusiasm – me and motivation. Me and the world, in fact.

But just you wait! When you’re up to your ears in snow and your knees in mud, I’ll be revelling in the ocean, sun on my back, water rippling on white sand, dolphins riding the waves…

So there!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-for-solstice/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Daily prompt: Ha!

  1. bkpyett says:

    Great post Helen! Must say, I do enjoy this weather for writing, so long as I can keep warm!

  2. It’s the keeping warm bit that causes me such problems. 😦

  3. June 21st is my wife’s birthday! We celebrated with two son’s and a friend at a marvelous oriental buffet. My bride was 81, diagnosed 9 years ago with AZ and Dementia, an illness medical science says life expectancy after diagnosis is 8.3 years. She walked into the celebration on my son’s arm and on mine when we left. Two days prior, after examination by her neurologist he said she was stable, doing well and didn’t need to seen for another 3 months. She may not remember the party today or tomorrow, but God’s blessings are new every morning! In December we’ll celebrate 61 years together and are looking forward to a future so wonderful, I can’t comprehend it. Even in winter, here on the Gulf coast in Florida there is no “winter.” It would be the same in Minnesota.

  4. ChristineR says:

    Oh I love it, Helen. That’ll learn them. 😀 😀 😀

  5. Helen,
    Sunshine can be internal as well as external. Funny blogs help.

  6. Martha Kennedy says:

    I was thinking that WP is a bit Northern Hemipherist…

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Stunning Solstice | Peace, Love & Great Country Music

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Stunning Solstice | Apple Pie and Napalm

Leave a Reply

