Share your world: Week 25

What is your favorite type of dog? (can be anything from a specific breed, a stuffed animal, drawing, cartoon or character in a movie or TV show)

Basil

Basil


The family dog – which isn’t very helpful when you consider how many of those we’ve had over the years from my childhood to my grandchildren’s. They came in all shapes and sizes, some with impeccable lineage, some whose ancestry was decidedly dubious, but they all had one thing in common: once they arrived, they outshone every other dog on the planet.
The current title-holder is a cavoodle, a recent addition to my second daughter’s household.

Name one thing not many people know about you.
I have webbed toes. Will that do? Not like a duck, you understand. Just a touch of webbing joining the base of my second and third toes. Perfectly normal, I always thought, until my grandson was born with a similar eccentricity and the paediatrician pointed it out. Who knows? Perhaps people have been sniggering behind their hands all my barefoot life, but if so, I wish them well. Don’t think it bothers my grandson, either.

Have you ever gone scuba diving? If you haven’t, would you want to?
No, and no. The idea of gliding among fishes and drifting above coral reefs is definitely enticing, but I have an equally vivid vision of stuffing the whole thing, turning off my air by mistake, or getting stuck under a rock. There’s a reason I tend to bob to the surface like a cork: I’m not meant for underwater exploration.

What was the most important event in your life last week? (anything goes it can be a good nights sleep, finished a reading book,winning the lottery, or getting married

Cousins

Cousins

The phone call from my youngest daughter telling me they’d exchanged contracts on a house. It’s not just the joy of knowing they’ve found somewhere they like and can afford: the location is perfect. It means all my children are within walking distance of each other (without living in each other’s pockets – definitely not their heart’s desire!) and their children will all go to the same primary school. I have a feeling it’s unusual, in this day and age, for siblings to be so close, but mine are best friends – one of the things I give heartfelt thanks for daily.

http://ceenphotography.com/2014/06/23/share-your-world-2014-week-25/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Share your world: Week 25

  1. ChristineR says:

    Now I know more about you Helen. My son and daughter get on well too, and their respective kids love getting together.

  2. Cute pup. Cavoodle? That’s a new one to me. My former boss had a Golden Doodle – cross between Golden Retriever and Standard Poodle.

    I think you are right about the rarity of siblings being best friends. I’m pleased for them and for you.

    • A cavoodle is a Cavalier KIng Charles spaniel + miniature poodle (apricot, in Basil’s case) so they’re smallish, placid and intelligent (or that’s the theory).
      My kids tell me a lot of their friends don’t have much to do with their siblings, so my lot are particularly grateful for the built-in support system.

  3. bkpyett says:

    Lovely cavoodle Helen. wonderful to hear how your children are close. Great for the kids! I’m thrilled that two of mine are both in Canberra and both families had a baby last year. They are good friends too Makes me grateful that they can support one another.

  4. ” Life begins when the last dog dies.”

  5. I would love, LOVE, to go scuba diving. My husband was so excited about scuba diving that he saved up babysitting money when he was 12 and got his scuba license. And then he married a woman who, although she grew up with a pool and who spent her childhood in the ocean/rivers/lakes, hates deep waters. The idea of voluntarily putting your head underwater and breathing goes against my senses. Soo, he’s hoping one of our kids are interested 😉

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    I had an uncle with webbed toes. I think it is more common than anyone knows. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Any Cavoodles with webbed feet? One that might like scuba diving?

  8. No cat lovers in this group?

Leave a Reply

