I’m still here – sort of…

Morning all. Sorry I haven’t been around for a while – I know you’ve been sobbing into your porridge – but things all got a bit out of hand, here, for a minute. And with a bit of luck, they still are.

No, hang on, I’m not supposed to hope that, am I, let alone say it. Discipline, Hells, that’s the key! And I meant well, I really did:
1. Rise early (comparatively)
2. Blog
3. Sell self/book by as-yet unidentified means
4. Slot in time for healthy exercise
5. Write next book.

But there’s the rub. No.5 grabbed me by the throat and refused to let go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’d forgotten how addictive it is. I guess it’s like childbirth. Not that that’s addictive (fortunately), but you think you remember what it was like, and realise as you’re sucked into the vortex that memory is a very pale imitation of the truth. Yesterday was Sunday all day, believe it or not, and in the odd moment when I managed to cycle back to Friday, Sunday’s tentacles wormed their way through the convolutions of my brain waving words and phrases and shouting ideas. How could I possibly ignore them? Even if I’d wanted to, which I didn’t. That’s the thing about addiction. It’s addictive.

This is a book I started writing about 12 months ago, got to about 30,000 words and drove head-first into a brick wall. My usual problem: saggy midriff. Not enough guts to bolster the middle. Tell the story too fast, pad too little. Obstacles, my son tells me. That’s what I need. And somewhere in the last 12 months, my subconscious has come up with a cornucopia of goodies just begging to be added to the mix.

So now it’s hard to drag myself away from Their lives, and find something even vaguely sensible to say about my own: what I’m doing, thinking, living, breathing… I’m wallowing in the piggy-mud happiness of writing, and even if it turns out to be unmitigated rubbish, my fervent hope is that I won’t be stopping anytime soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m still here – sort of…

  1. Write away, dear Helen, can’t wait to read what’s a-brewing. “Wallowing in the piggy-mud happiness of writing!”

  2. ashokbhatia says:

    Happy tapping away on the keys!

  3. Martha Kennedy says:

    YAY!!!!! T’aint no reason to write no blog iffn’ you got something else to do. 🙂

    • But if I lose touch with everyone, I might get lonely 😦

      • Martha Kennedy says:

        It’s a pretty shattering experience to be in the throes of a novel and all the interesting characters and working out the twists and turns and getting to know them and their world and to FINISH. Close the computer and go out to your living room and it’s dark and empty and you really feel, “Where is everybody?” That was my experience finishing Martin of Gfenn. Savior not so much as it was a different process (and I knew about the experience and didn’t want to repeat it and my lifestyle had changed in the meantime) but Capote said, “Finishing a novel is exactly like you took a child outside and shot him.” SO…yeah, maybe touch ground from time to time. I’m looking forward to when my move is finished and I can sit down wherever it is I will be living and focus on my story. 🙂 If you ever want a reader, I’m here.

      • Not taking him out and shooting him – more like waving the last child goodbye when they leave home, knowing they’re still out there, but geez the house is empty without them!
        And thank you from the bottom of my heart for your offer to read – kindness above and beyond, that is, given we both know it would probably bore you to dry hacking sobs, since it’s likely to have all the depth of a puddle!

  4. It’s a wonderful place to be! Good for you! Enjoy it. Throw some inspiration this way, would ya? Oh wait, you just did. : )

  5. ChristineR says:

    Oh goody gumdrops! There’s MORE on the way! Actually, Helen, the number one way to sell the novel you have published is to have another on offer. Hugh Howey actually wrote three novels (I think) and then published them all at the same time. At least, that how I remember it, from his blog. And he never stops writing! Atta girl. ❤

  6. That’s THE signal that it’s going well. I think I didn’t come out of my office except to eat or use the bathroom for 9 months when I was writing. It WAS the world. Congratulations. That’s great news!!

  7. bkpyett says:

    Great to hear that you’re in the mire of writing! I started your other book last night and am up to chapter 4 and really enjoying your characterisation. Can’t wait till tonight to get back to it. ❤

  8. Tidlidim says:

    Nothing wrong in “hermiting” to write a book, it’s much easier when there are no distractions. Best of luck 🙂

  9. Do you know how pleased I am for you? VERY! Over-the-moon very! ❤

  10. Given you have been hiding away doing something incredibly creative and productive rather than just hiding out in the Blogosphere (as I have been doing – today I have not even made it out of my pjs), I would say no apology is necessary. Go for it! So excited for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

