Daily prompt: Me and mine

Daily Prompt
Soulful Machines
Machines, appliances, and gadgets sometimes feel like they have their own personalities — from quirky cars to dignified food processors. What’s the most “human” machine you own?

Ah well then…!

I love my computer for what’s on it, but not, I’m forced to say, for its sparkling personality. In fact it regards human emotion as messy and unpredictable, unworthy of its higher evolution, and if the truth be told, rather embarrassing. It suffers my wilder flights of fancy in inscrutable silence, beneath which, I suspect, is a measure of disdain it would never lower itself to express.

My car and my Mixmaster are a different kettle of moving parts. We have grown old and battered together for 18 and 46 years respectively, and are all at a similar level of functional decrepitude – which probably says something very profound about changing expectations and built-in obsolescence, but that’s for another day.

I have tried to make my mobile phone feel special by giving it a unique and lovingly-crafted charm and a rockin’ ringtone, but the only result is to make it easy to find when two or three mobiles are gathered together. The phone itself appears incapable of rising above stolid conformity.

But what can you do?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/soulful-machines/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily prompt: Me and mine

  1. lifelessons says:

    My computer continues to try to think for me, thinking “shirt” is the most vile expletive I’m capable of. Judy

  2. bkpyett says:

    Well written. I can’t imagine going back to washing sheets with out a washing machine, but my machine is just that, lacking personality, stolid and reliable. Whereas my computer does seem to have quirks that I’m still trying to keep up with… maybe it does have its own personality.

  3. Ar age 16, my car thanks you for making it feel “young’ – relatively. Haven’t use a mixmaster in more than 46 years.

  4. Need more space between R and T on my keyboard.

  5. Kid to storekeeper: “I want to wash my dog. Any soap for that?” Storekeeper: “No, but try a little of this washing machine detergent. It should work.” Several days later kid back in store, Stoerkeeper: “How’s your dog, did the detergent work?” Kid: “My dog is dead. He died during Spin Dry.”

  6. Aunt Beulah says:

    A delightful post,Helen, I chuckled and vowed to look at my machines with an eye toward their personalities today, but right now I’m off to ride my bicycle which I think is a joyful, youthful machine because I can’t seem to ride it without a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

