Daily prompt: It will only ever count if…

Daily Prompt
Make It Count
You’ve been given the opportunity to send one message to one person you wouldn’t normally have access to (for example: the President. Kim Kardashian. A coffee grower in Ethiopia). Who’s the person you choose, and what’s the message?

There’s not much point in sending a message like that when you know in advance it’s not going to make a blind bit of difference.

If, for example, I sent our PM a message telling him to quit politics for the good of the country – and assuming it got past his minders – he’d regard it with total incomprehension (or a smug smile that said ‘What fools those mortals are), followed by a swift mental chop that erased it from his consciousness forever.

Yesterday, I sent a message to the head sherang at Optus (my ISP): if my local tower keeps falling over every time the traffic increases, I am likely to have apoplexy and attack the bloody thing with a hatchet. Not that I actually used those words, you understand, but I did point out that this is a TOURIST AREA. You know. T.O.U.R.I.S.T.S? Those people we rely on to come here on HOLIDAYS and spend their MONEY, so that we can afford the exorbitant rates you charge to connect to this useless piece of garbage? And they increase the traffic, my friend. Regularly. And just as regularly, the tower FALLS OVER, metaphorically speaking, and I am left with no internet connection. So my message to you is UPGRADE OR DIE – again metaphorically speaking, although it’s touch and go.

But what I’d really like to do is send a message to us all – which I know is cheating, but what the hell.

One day, believe it or not, we’re all going to die. And when that day comes, we are incontrovertibly and irreversibly out of time to do all those things we postponed ‘temporarily’ in favour of the greedy, grasping, self-righteous carry-on that kept us up with the Joneses and ensured we got our share of those nebulous, questionable things we considered our ‘rights’ – none of which will matter two hoots when it comes to the crunch. So how about we start thinking of it this way: we all affect the sum total of the world simply by being in it. So wouldn’t it be better, come the day, to think that our grain of sand emanated ethics and wisdom rather than dollar signs and one-upmanship?

Just a suggestion…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/make-it-count/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily prompt: It will only ever count if…

  1. To the President: Take Trump’s offer of free golf for life and resign.

  2. Martha Kennedy says:

    I shared this on Facebook. I didn’t wait because, well, you never know…

  3. bkpyett says:

    Here, Here! Chris ended up going to the top when he had trouble with Telstra, and it worked!
    (after much time spent talking to India etc). He actually spoke with the CEO and had success!

  4. I’m painfully aware that today is that rainy day we were saving for. Maybe it’s all the life and death stuff I’ve been through, but within physical and financial limits, we do as much as we can if we can and we don’t leave things for an indefinite future time. Sometimes I wish we’d been better at the greedy capitalist stuff so we’d have more to work with now … but then again, maybe we are all right where we are supposed to be. Maybe.

    • Maybe I should have been greedier too – I’d certainly be less strapped – but if it involved compromising your ethics… And given the GFC, would it have made any difference? I’d rather be me than whose financial fiddling landed millions behind square one.

  5. Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commentijng
    anyplace, when i read this arrticle i thought
    i could also make comment due to thios sensible piece
    of writing.

Leave a Reply

