Daily prompt: Deal or no deal

Daily Prompt
Big Day Ahead
It’s the night before an important event: a big exam, a major presentation, your wedding. How do you calm your nerves in preparation for the big day?

It’s forty-six years since my one toddle down the aisle, and if it weren’t for the photos, I wouldn’t remember much about it. As for the night before – no photos, no memories whatsoever.

My last exam was thirty years ago. I hypnotised myself the night before (and as I went in), to remember what I knew. It obviously worked OK. I got a high distinction.

I’ve never done a major presentation, and as for important events… Wallpaper just hangs on the wall. Nothing too important about that. And if it turns 70 and its family throws it a party, there are no nerves involved. It knows they’re unnecessary: it will just be a good party.

Mostly, though, I’ve found that the really important things in life happen unexpectedly, and there’s no time to get yourself in a lather about them. You deal with them. What choice do you have? Except not dealing, and I know from experience that crawling into a hole to rot only creates trouble, and lots and LOTS of stress for those around you.

You might think I’ve led a charmed life. I haven’t. I’m just old enough to have learned a few things, like how to say no to situations I don’t want to be in, and how to cope when a full bucket empties itself on your head.

This doesn’t mean I don’t lie awake all night worrying about possibilities and things I can’t change. Just means I’m used to lying awake all night. Annoying, but not terminal.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/big-day-ahead/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily prompt: Deal or no deal

  1. bkpyett says:

    Helen you do make me smile! Sorry about the sleepless nights though.

  2. It’s never the things you worry about that get you. Life likes to deliver sucker punches out of the blue, I think, so it seems rather pointless to fret. I tell myself this repeatedly at 3 a.m.

  3. Tidlidim says:

    Love reading your blog, Helen, so I’ve nominated you for a Lovely Blog Award 🙂 http://bit.ly/1oMSKSi

  4. Pingback: Big Day Ahead | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

