Daily prompt: Loophole

Daily Prompt
Trick or Trick
It’s Halloween, and you just ran out of candy. If the neighborhood kids (or anyone else, really) were to truly scare you, what trick would they have to subject you to?

You can’t run out of candy when you didn’t have any in the first place, so that pretty much lets me out. For one thing, ‘candy’ doesn’t figure in the national vocabulary, and for another, by the time Halloween lodged in the national consciousness (only a few years ago), it had lost any religious, pagan, spiritual or whatever meaning it might have had and become a giant commercial ra-ra designed to sell more mini mars bars, fake blood and witches’ hats. So I can’t get terribly excited about it. And judging by the total lack of action here last night, I’m not alone.

That’s one of the interesting things about blogging on an American site: if you’re Australian, you need to realise before you start that despite assumptions to the contrary, our cultures are entirely different beasts, and we’re likely to know more about yours than you know about ours. And please believe me, this is not a criticism. It’s an inevitable fact of life. You cater to the majority, and despite what our unbeloved, sociopathic, sneaky-bastard PM would like us to believe, in global terms, you count, we don’t. And on the whole, we’re happy with that. We’re a long way away, and if the aforementioned PM would only keep his mouth shut, we could keep our heads down, stay out of harm’s way, and save ourselves the bother of explaining our sense of humour.

But it also means that in terms of the Daily Prompt, we’re constantly out of step. It’s almost summer here, not almost winter.

And what’s more, pumpkins are out of season.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/trick-or-trick/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily prompt: Loophole

  1. wscottling says:

    I’m constantly going on about how the prompts don’t apply to everyone everywhere… I wish they’d understand that.

  2. bkpyett says:

    Quite so, and well written! A few of the children in our area participated, but many didn’t. I am glad that we are different… but it’s nice to recognise our similarities too.

  3. Dave says:

    As an American who largely ignores Halloween, I love your perspective. Even as an American, I frequently have trouble relating to the prompts.

    On the other hand, pumpkins are in season here – maybe I am just “out of touch”.

  4. I like that you say what’s in your mind, especially as what you mean is good. I hail from a beautiful country in Africa called Cameroon. But I like to write for an international audience and so I like to know other cultures to better relate. Hence prompts about Halloween make me know new things. I am reading as many of the posts as I can to better understand, I believe every coin has two sides. You raise a point which can lead to a good conversation.

  5. dearmaizie says:

    Our “American exceptionalism” wears me out, so thanks for the reminder that hey other people exist in the world!

Leave a Reply

