Daily prompt: I’m off

Daily Prompt
Trio no. 4
Today you can write about anything, in whatever genre or form, but your post must include a speeding car, a phone call, and a crisp, bright morning. (Wildcard: you can swap any of the above for a good joke.)

It’s a bright morning, but not what you’d call crisp. It’s going to be hot. Which is sort of annoying, because I’m about to imprison my feet in shoes. Against my summer principles, on the whole, but I’m flying to Sydney where it’s likely to rain later, and the shoes take up too much room in the luggage.

So about an hour from now, I’ll be off to the airport an hour and a half away, driven there by a kind friend so I don’t have to pay the exorbitant squillions they squeeze out of you for the privilege of leaving your car in their car park. He won’t be speeding, I trust, because I’d be seriously put out if he was pulled over and a) was fined while doing me a favour, and b) I missed the flight.

Why am I going again so soon? Because D3 is facing a tough weekend, I’m her mum, and I like to help where possible. Why am I not driving? Because… I don’t know. Maybe I’m developing a modicum of sense in my old age? And much as I hate to admit it, I do get tired, and it’s no time at all since I got home from the last epic. But probably more to the point, my kids would be seriously unimpressed. When I get to other end, I’ll make a quick phone call to D2, who will be lurking out of sight of parking nazis, and will roll by to pick me up.

So I won’t be around for a while. Make sure you miss me, now… :)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/trio-4/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Daily prompt: I’m off

  1. Martha Kennedy says:

    I’ll miss you. Your daughters are so lucky. They know that, right?

  2. C.J. Black says:

    Just when I found you?

  3. bkpyett says:

    Shall miss you, but am glad you’re there to support those lucky girls and grand children too! ❤

  4. Aunt Beulah says:

    I will miss you, guaranteed. But the happiness of your family at having you there will far exceed the loss your readers will feel.

  5. Pingback: Acrostic Poem / Poetry – “Left Logically Yet Rightly Creative” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

