Daily prompt: Embrace the ick before it embraces you

Daily Prompt
Embrace the Ick
Think of something that truly repulses you. Hold that thought until your skin squirms. Now, write a glowing puff piece about its amazing merits

Oh the wondrous mystery of it all!

I’ve just had a wander through other people’s notions of ick-worthy (as you do) and for a minute there, I thought, Yep, you’ve finally done it, old lady: you’ve lost the plot. There were posts there from November 2012, and at least one from the 15th of this month… Surely the prompt hadn’t been up as long as that? And most startling of all, at least half a dozen people had removed their sites altogether, obviously within hours of posting their responses to today’s topic.

Or is it today’s topic?

Is it today?

But there, my computer says it is. Or maybe tomorrow, in your terms. Should I worry?

BLUEBOTTLES

aussie-snap-shots.com

aussie-snap-shots.com

The wind’s from the northeast.
Bluebottle weather.
Shiny blue bubbles drifting and bobbing,
riding the swell and the rising chop
innocent as sun-kissed babies.

Devil’s spawn
with smiling faces and vicious tails
that wrap themselves round tender human flesh
and cling like lovers, leaving
weals of fiercely burning bites
in the secrecy of the tumbling, salty sea.

Piss off, you little buggers.
You’re stuffing my day.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/embrace-the-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily prompt: Embrace the ick before it embraces you

  1. bkpyett says:

    Such seductive words, with the Australian twist at the end, I love it!

  2. LOL, Helen. I love a feisty ending!

  3. Beth says:

    I admire your feisty spirit, Helen! I’m traveling in Thailand right now and when was on layover in Singapore, I waved to you in Australia:0).

    • Waving’s no good! Next time you’ll have to come and visit.

      • Beth says:

        I could visit if I don’t get taken out by a crazy tuk-tuk driver or a wild farang on a rented motorcycle! Met one of your young countrywomen also solo traveling in Thailand while trying to ride a bicycle at my age in Ayutthaya. She called me “mate” when we wished each other happy travels:0))

  4. Yes, our daily prompt is quite the traveler, isn’t it? And that is why if I have a post lying around that addresses the issue, I feel no compunctions about posting is again. If they are going to rerun the prompts, I am going to rerun my posts. I rerun my posts anyway. I’ve got more than 3000 of them. Too much material to use it just once.

Leave a Reply

