Daily prompt: Could I be so unkind?

Daily Prompt
Clone Wars
If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

In days of yore when I was doing the lot, two of me might have been quite useful: one to be wife, mother, housekeeper, cook and bottle-washer, and the other to do the long commute and earn the income.

In fact come to think of it, two might come in handy even now: one living in Sydney being grandma and keeping the medical appointments, and one doing her own thing 500km to the north. Provided, of course, we each had our own income (I couldn’t afford to keep her in separate accommodation) and provided we shared instantly the emotional pleasure of being among family, and the physical benefits of things like cataract removal.

But on the whole, the thought of there being two of me really doesn’t appeal. I can’t imagine she’d want to live in Sydney any more than I do despite instant access to family, so I’d probably feel guilty about making her do it. And if we had the share thing going, I’d be all too aware of our mutual unease at the sort of social challenges city living might force upon her, and her misery at being denied the freedom of my current lifestyle.

So thanks, but no thanks.

Teleporting, now… That would be good.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/clone-wars/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily prompt: Could I be so unkind?

  1. Louise says:

    Your first paragraph is where I’m at now.
    As for teleporting? Yes please! That would be wonderfully efficient!

  2. bkpyett says:

    I agree, teleporting would be wonderful. I thought there for a bit you’d like having a double. Xx

  3. Teleporting — definitely better than cloning.

  4. Yes. Teleportation. I want that. And a nice, mild place to be where nothing white is falling from that cold sky.

  5. I like your approach. Why force another you to do the thing you already don’t enjoy. Why I,prison someone to that lifestyle when we ourselves are trying to escape. A unique theory

  6. lilypup says:

    I love the part about the cataracts. I never considered the health of my clones. https://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/clone-wars/

Leave a Reply

