Daily prompt: Why bother?

Daily Prompt
I’d Like to Thank My Cats
You are receiving an award –- either one that already exists, or a new one created just for you. What would the award be, why are you being honored, and what would you say in your acceptance speech?

When I leapt lithely from my bed this merry March morning, I booted up my slumbering social life and discovered with indisputable interest that 137 bright-eyed bloggers had beaten me onto today’s glittering grid.

But… call me cynical Sal…despite being domiciled Downunder with the consequent confusing convolutions concerning troublesome time zones, this seemed to me oltogether OTT given the general lacklustre lassitude currently meandering mindlessly through the motions of the erstwhile energetic Daily Prompt.

So I had a look. And of those 137, approximately 95 are responses to the same prompt offered in August 2013: responses recycled without notice and without permission from their creators.

This, dear WordPress, is unethical in so many ways regarding not only your members but your own statistics, that I wonder if I can be bothered anymore.

I don’t like unethical. And I don’t like being recycled without my permission.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/id-like-to-thank-my-cats/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily prompt: Why bother?

  1. bkpyett says:

    Was your post recycled from last year? This sounds ludicrous! I must say that the prompt didn’t entice me to respond.

  2. lifelessons says:

    At least they put the new responders first. Initially, they put us at the end of the list so someone’s instinct was to read through all the old ones first. Baby steps.I can’t even find any of the alternate prompts that I haven’t already written. I’ve taken to looking at other prompt sites and just posting it on the WordPress Daily site. Since they offer alternate prompts, I figure it’s kosher for me to find my own alternate prompts as well. .Judy

  3. angloswiss says:

    I recycled my own 2 year old prompt, and added a second prompt which had nothing to do with the prompt title – a little revolution. I really now do my own thing and ignore the daily prompt with the ignorance.

  4. Seriously, why bother ??

  5. Ethics and WordPress in the same sentence is the definition of an oxymoron.

Leave a Reply

