Daily prompt: Whatever

Daily Prompt
Land of Confusion
Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream? Do tell!

To save you shuffling down the grid, here’s what I said last time. https://helenmeikle.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/daily-prompt-compared-to-this-survivor-is-chicken-feed/
Nothing’s changed.

Meanwhile…

Seizing the day, 14/5
Every night I make a vow
to do better tomorrow, and achieve
something…
And every tomorrow
time dribbles through my fingers
and my good intentions
cry whiteboard-marker tears.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/land-of-confusion-2/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily prompt: Whatever

  1. bkpyett says:

    Enjoyed this Helen, and feel like-wise.

  2. Wonderful! I missed this the first go round. Glad for the recycle. Love this line because I can relate: “my good intentions cry whiteboard-marker tears.”

  3. Oh, I can relate to the horrors of phys ed class; coming out of 8 years of Catholic school, where our P.E. was kicking a tire in a parking lot and climbing the fire escape stairway ! Walking into a fully equipped gymnastics arena (pummel horse, rings, rope climb, balance beam, parallel bars, etc.) was even more of a shock to me than the walk-through group showers ! Not sure how my self esteem survived that first year. ☺ Van

    • My self-esteem didn’t survive any of it. Scarred for life, I swear!

      • I was once playing volleyball at a picnic, and I kept spiking the ball at the net, gaining points. An adult friend said..”You’re quite an athlete”…first time ever. I’m sure I blushed, and it might have gone a long way to change how I saw myself. But..there was alcohol involved…and I ended up spraining my ankle…so..maybe not so different !! ☺

    • I’m sure we’d all have been more athletic if we hadn’t been bullied and humiliated by sadistic PE teachers.

      • In 9th grade, coming to public school after the nuns, I/we were way ahead of the game academically. I had solid A’s on that report card, but for a C from the dreaded PE teacher for the first semester. She was shamed by other faculty, I was later told, to rethink the grade and give me credit for the effort. Score one for academic peer pressure ! ☺

Leave a Reply

