Daily prompt: If clothes make the woman, I don’t exist

Daily Prompt
The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man
How important are clothes to you? Describe your style, if you have one, and tell us how appearance impacts how you feel about yourself.

See, I think this whole ‘clothes maketh’ thing is a load of old cods.

And yes, if you’re feeling uncharitably picky, you could well point out that I have to think that, don’t I, having realised very early in life that you can’t make pigs’ ears into silk purses, however much time, money and effort you lavish on the project.

So…

Formal occasions require formal clothes for two reasons:
1. You can’t blend with the wallpaper if you stick out like a sore thumb
2. It’s insulting to the star of the occasion (even if they’re dead, as in a funeral) to roll up looking as if they’re not important enough to merit the effort.

Venturing forth with last night’s spag bol on your shirt is just plain grotty. There’s no excuse for grotty.

Don’t dress in a way that will embarrass those you’re with – eg, it would be cruel to turn up to your grandchildren’s school open day in something that would make them squirm.

Mutton dressed as lamb looks pathetic, as well as silly.

I’m living, here, not standing about like a clothes horse. I want to be clean, warm in winter and cool in summer, and otherwise get on with it without agonising over how I look. Or indeed how other people look. I’m more interested in what they’re saying than what they’re wearing.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-clothes-may-make-the-woman/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Daily prompt: If clothes make the woman, I don’t exist

  1. I love your opening line If clothes make the woman, then I don’t exist. I agree with all your thoughts here.

  2. Fran Macilvey says:

    LOLOL! Thanks, Helen.

    Yesterday, looking for a bunch of parents who had been redirected to another waiting room, I gate-crashed a posh function and was cordially invited to partake of a glass of wine, even stay for an evening meal, if I wanted to. My admission that I was not one of the party, did not reduce the cordiality of the gate keeper one whit. And I was wearing my shabby rags and carrying a huge bag from a cheap and cheerful discount store.

    Perhaps I am beginning to realise, people look at the smile first, and if that is sincere, the rest is taken lightly.

  3. So, it’s clean, neat, comfortable, without last night’s leftovers on the bib? I can do that 🙂

  4. I like this one, Helen, quite a lot. I grew up poor, but always clean, well-fed, with good manners and a kind word for everyone. Our hand-me-down clothes were clean and pressed, our worn out shoes were always polished; and most especially, we were told to be proud, and walk with heads held high, for we were as good as anyone out there. I credit my father. Thanks ☺ Van

  5. Aunt Beulah says:

    Wonderful reply. I think you spoke for most women who just want to be decently covered and dressed for the weather. My sister recently remarked that she has nothing in her closet that isn’t absolutely comfortable. I thought that was quite wise and went home to weed out a few things that didn’t fit her criteria.

  6. Mekhala V says:

    “I’m living, here, not standing about like a clothes horse. I want to be clean, warm in winter and cool in summer, and otherwise get on with it without agonising over how I look.”

    I agree. 🙂

Leave a Reply

