Daily prompt: Sleep first, analyse later

Daily Prompt
To Sleep, Perchance to Dream
Sleep is one-third of our lives: write a post about it. Do you love naps? Have trouble falling alseep? Wish you could remember your dreams? Remember something especially vivid? Snuggle under a blanket, or throw the windows wide open? Meditate on sleep

I don’t know a lot about sleep owing to the fact that I’m asleep while I’m doing it, if you take my point. It seems a terrible waste, really, that there’s not a bit of you conscious enough to enjoy how much you’re enjoying it. Although I suppose that would be fairly horrible for those trapped in it when they weren’t enjoying it at all – if, say, they had so much to do they were castigating themselves all night over the time they were wasting.

I do know, though, that it’s time well wasted. Experience has taught me that if you don’t get enough of it, it screws with your head bigtime.

At the moment, I tend to pop awake thinking Oh, hello! Where have you been? This is about the only benefit of winter: there’s nothing like burrowing under the bedclothes for inducing a good night’s sleep. This is probably something deeply instinctive, like having a good hiding place to save you from predators when you’re at your most vulnerable. A mere sheet doesn’t cut it.

I am not A Good Person when it comes to sleep. I have allowed my brain to do things the wrong way round for too long, and the groove is now so well worn that unless I am constantly vigilant – which I’m not – it slides back to its wicked ways so smoothly I barely notice: keeps me up until the small hours while it does its best thinking, and behaves like a grumpy slug in the morning. So sleep in, you think. But that’s not how the rest of society works, and it’s not big on making allowances for those who don’t conform.

The biggest leap of faith about sleep is that you’ll wake up again in the morning. You don’t really know that until you do it. But then if you don’t do it, you won’t know that either, will you.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sleep/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily prompt: Sleep first, analyse later

  1. lifelessons says:

    “I don’t know a lot about sleep owing to the fact that I’m asleep while I’m doing it, if you take my point. It seems a terrible waste, really, that there’s not a bit of you conscious enough to enjoy how much you’re enjoying it.” I love all of this essay, but especially these opening lines, Helen. So funny, but you make such good points as well…True plus funny makes it with me!!!! Judy

  2. bkpyett says:

    Love the way you write Helen!

Leave a Reply

