Daily Prompt: One man’s meat etc.

Daily Prompt

That Stings!

Franz Kafka said, “we ought to read only books that bite and sting us.” What’s the last thing you read that bit and stung you?

I don’t read bitey, stingy stuff. Why would I? Life is bitey and stingy enough without inviting the bites and stings back for a vicarious rerun.

See, to me, reading isn’t the intellectual and emotional workout it might have been in my youth. (I say ‘might have been’ because my youth was a very long time ago and consequently hazy.) I read for entertainment, and (again to me) there’s nothing remotely entertaining about interminable angst-ridden introspection, bleak pessimism, or stupidity you know is bound to end in tears. In fact I’m happy to read what others might consider crap, provided it’s well-written, entertaining crap that doesn’t root around in emotional memories best left undisturbed. This isn’t denial. I know what’s there. It’s common sense in the interests of a peaceful old age.

Kafka had Problems, poor chap. I sympathise. But that doesn’t mean I want to embrace his commitment to suffering.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/that-stings/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: One man’s meat etc.

  1. I’m with you. The older I get, the less interested I am in receiving moral lessons from the books I read.

  2. Aunt Beulah says:

    If I’m not caught by an intriguing plot or interesting characters in the first couple of chapters, I’m on to other fare; nd meanderings in angst in neither intriguing nor interesting, all of which is my long-winded way of saying I couldn’t agree with you more.

Leave a Reply

