Paris – time to think carefully

Yesterday I tried to write a post suggesting we needed something more constructive than a knee-jerk response to the attack on Paris – but I’m not a journalist or a sage or a world leader.
This morning I found this in the Sydney Morning Herald which says what I wanted to say far better than I could say it.

I know we often ignore links posted on blogs, but please make an exception!

http://www.smh.com.au/comment/paris-attacks-five-things-the-world-must-do-in-response-20151115-gkzjfp.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Paris – time to think carefully

  1. And yet for reasons that surpass understanding, people seem to feel that giving them MORE press is in some way a good thing. It really isn’t. Quite the opposite.

  2. “More than one and a half times the number of Americans died in the ill-begotten invasion and occupation of Iraq than on 9/11.

    Very good article. I especially like his comments about what the 9/11 attacks cost the US. Those terrorists were completely successful. American culture is GONE as is the democratic process. The whole thing fell apart as a result of that D*(%wad’s response. And I agree with Marilyn. The less said, the better. This is time for thought and then the right kind of action. The ONLY way that press is a “good thing” right now is making money for the media outlets and stirring up humanity’s morbid lust for sensation and rage.

    • I remember crossing fingers, toes, eyes and all after 9/11, that Bush would stop and ask the hard questions – like WHY? – instead of indulging in bluster and bombs, which blind Freddy could see would only exacerbate the situation. Particularly when he had no idea where Bin Laden was, and picked the targets to suit his own agenda.
      I particularly like Hartcher’s point about the political strategy behind terrorist attacks: we become the terrorists’ strongest ally by allowing fear to weaken us.

  3. Lola says:

    Excellent article! I’m so glad you added this: “I know we often ignore links posted on blogs, but please make an exception!” I might have bypassed it if you hadn’t. Thanks!

  4. Monicle says:

    I can’t tell you how relieved and happy I am that out new Prime Minister is still pulling out of bombing. It’s just plain stupid! The way to fight ISIL is to be free and allow others their freedom.

Leave a Reply

