Daily prompt: Sticking to the devil I know

DAILY PROMPT
Tomorrow you get to become anyone in the world that you wish. Who are you? You can choose to be anyone alive today, or someone gone long ago. If you decide to stay “you” share your rationale

Bit late for that, I’m afraid. For one thing, it’s already tomorrow here, and as I woke up this morning as the same old me, I guess the witching hour came and went without my knowing what was on offer.

Not that I’m regretting it, mind. It’s taken me enough years to get used to being me, without having to start again as someone else. And even supposing the idea appealed, how could I possibly know the hidden torments and simmering insecurities my person of choice might harbour? At least I’m used to my own sorrows and shortcomings and the ways I’ve found to deal with them. Don’t want to imagine the possibility of inadvertently inheriting someone else’s mountain of unresolved angst.

Besides, being someone else would mean leaving behind my own children and grandchildren. Not happening, folks. Ever.

There are, of course, a few things about me-as-I-am that could do with a good spit and polish – not to say radical renovation. But New Year resolutions aren’t going to solve those little puppies, so I’m guessing I’ll just be a work in progress til the day I die.

Anyway, Happy New Year to you all. May we all manage to make the best of what we get, even if it isn’t what we thought we wanted.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/a-brand-new-you-effective-tomorrow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily prompt: Sticking to the devil I know

  1. Relax... says:

    Amen to all the above! A safe, healthy and very happy new year is wished to you.

  2. Well said, Helen. Happy New Year to you!

  3. ^This. 100%. Words out of my mouth and all that.

    Happy New Year to you, Helen. May you always have plenty of spit and a full tin of polish. 🙂

  4. lifelessons says:

    I have always said that I will take my own problems over anyone else’s. I think somehow our problems suit us. Usually we made them ourselves, if they are not physical. I think therefore that we are meant to deal with them!!!

Leave a Reply

