Daily prompt: Style and I don’t speak

DAILY PROMPT

Learning Style

What’s your learning style? Do you prefer learning in a group and in an interactive setting? Or one-on-one? Do you retain information best through lectures, or visuals, or simply by reading books?

First of all, thank you for the assumption that I’m still capable of learning.

Many don’t. Assume that. They look at my grey hair and think Hmmm, stupid. Sometimes it’s tempting to point out (very politely) that I wasn’t issued with a shonky set of marbles, and furthermore, I still have them all. Sometimes it’s tempting (if they’re being particularly patronising) to smack them in the mouth, but this would pretty much undermine any claim to intelligence.

But as for a learning style – what’s that? Something that passed me by, obviously. If the motivation’s good enough – like learn to use a computer or die – I can usually manage to whip the brain cells into a shape suitable for the project in hand. Other than that, they tend to lie about in a sludgy heap absorbing those things that interest them, and allowing the rest slide off into perpetual darkness.

They also tend to go into instant spasm at the first whiff of being ‘taught’. Like the blankness that descends when someone says, Take the third street to the right, second left, then left again at the black stump – if you know what I mean. There’s probably some deep psychological wound that causes this reaction, but since it doesn’t stop me learning what I need/want to know, I can’t get too whipped up about it. Funny, that.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/learning-style/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily prompt: Style and I don’t speak

  1. “Old people” like us are frequently underestimated — unless we own a major corporation or are running for president. Then, oddly enough, age makes us wise. Funny about that, eh?

  2. What are shonky marbles? I need to be taught.

Leave a Reply

