Daily prompt: Observations of a happy elephant

DAILY PROMPT
The Stat Connection
Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.

I’m far too old to be doing what I’m told without first considering the pros and cons, whether I can be bothered, and the big question – who benefits?

In this case, not me, and no one else either as far as I can see. Going to my Stats page would not only be tedious and time-consuming (I visit it so rarely it’s foreign territory, so I can’t flit around plucking information like daisies in spring) but wouldn’t tell me anything I don’t already know. Namely, none of my posts have been successful in any way WP would consider merits the description, and anything that does cause a momentary flutter of interest either hits the spot in relation to American current events, or is posted at a time when I should be asleep if I knew what was good for my health. None of which is of any help to anyone.

What’s more the American current events thing is a veritable minefield given I’m sticking my nose into other people’s business, and is often met with the ignore it no doubt richly deserves.  So the effect on my stats is zero – not a big disappointment since I’ve yet to post anything on any subject with stats in mind. I venture into this territory because it interests me, what happens in the US affects the world, and I care about it.

As for the small-hours posting – that’s life, I guess. If you live at the other end of the world, you get used to the fact that you’ll always be out of step. By the time the Daily Prompt hits the airwaves, I’m usually sleeping my way through the small hours of your tomorrow, and by the time I wake up, you’re thinking about last night’s dinner (my time) and not new posts on the DP grid.

But the thing is, I really, really don’t care. I don’t care about stats. I don’t care that my blog’s not wildly successful. I blog because I enjoy doing it, and if I’m ignored… I learned a long time ago not to be attached to outcomes. They’re notoriously unpredictable. And I chose a long time ago to accept the fact that I’ll never belong to any recognisable social group, and be a happy hermit instead. So for me to agonise over stats would be akin to an elephant searching desperately for the password that would allow her to join a pod of whales.

Aah…No. Not today, thanks.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/the-stat-connection/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily prompt: Observations of a happy elephant

  1. Just so you know, I don’t follow a lot of people. I do follow you — because I like you. You have something to say and you have a unique voice. I don’t think blogging is about numbers. If it was, I’d give up. Despite all cumulative totals? The actual number of people who view any given post of mine is rarely more than 40 to 50 people and is often a lot less. If it were about volume, it wouldn’t be worth the effort.

    • You’d probably be surprised to know it’s taken me years to find I have a voice at all – too busy meeting my responsibilities and other people’s expectations – so to have someone I respect regard it as unique and worth hearing is pure gold. Thank you so much.

  2. Monicle says:

    I’m with you…… I couldn’t even be bothered to look. I write when I feel like it and usually only get a couple of likes. That’s fine by me!

Leave a Reply

