Daily prompt: Can’t see the attraction

DAILY PROMPT
Five Items
A classic question, revisited: what are the five items you must have on a deserted island?

If this were a serious proposition, I’d have to drop out right now. Unless I could take Bear Grylls along to do the survival bit for me. And if it happened to be a cold island, even Bear Grylls couldn’t save me.

The thing is, I’m too old for this sort of lark. I want a quiet life, and that doesn’t include a dodgy water supply, food on the hoof, unseen beasts lurking about me while I sleep and countless bugs making my days hideous. I don’t want to lose contact with my kids, either, and realistically, however lush the island, it wouldn’t have mobile or broadband connection.

009I can understand the attraction of the stereotypical deserted island: sunshine and palm trees, crystal-clear water lapping on white sand. But I’ve just come back from a swim in my own piece of (delightfully warm, crystal-clear) Pacific to have a shower (in a bathroom with all the usual amenities, call me wimp), made a coffee and flopped into a comfortable chair in my bug-proof apartment five minutes from the white sand.

Why would I trade it?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/five-items/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily prompt: Can’t see the attraction

  1. Fran Macilvey says:

    YAY! The gentle voice of reason, spiced with humour. Thank you, Helen! 🙂

  2. The only kind of island I am ready for is the kind that is a five star resort with hot and cold running waiters. Or maybe a couple of weeks on Martha’s Vineyard. Otherwise, I’ll stay home, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

