Daily prompt: Lament upon the death of prose rhythm

DAILY PROMPT
Flow
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt

I do not weep, my friends – I do not mourn
For five iambic feet per line – long gorn,
Long vanished in the mists of time – but oh
Would that the modern writer saw the flow
Of words with that same intimate respect.
Would that it niggled at them to perfect
The balance of a sentence: that it stopped
Them popping words where words should not be popped
(Especially adverbs). Would they gave a thought
To sentences that staggered when they ought
To skip, such are the feeling they portray…
But I am old. Story is all, they say.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/flow/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily prompt: Lament upon the death of prose rhythm

  1. Alas for the whole English language. I loved it so …

    • I try to fight back. I’ve promised to teach my granddaughters to write limericks.

      • Too few people seem to respect (or understand the rhythm of) limericks these days. Learning to write limericks can set a child up for a poetic future. I learned them at my mother’s knee, and I suspect you have a similar story.

      • Yes! Edward Lear must be spinning in his grave.I don’t remember ‘learning’ to write limericks, but I think I picked up rhyme and rhythm subliminally from a steady diet of Hilaire Belloc et al. These days, you’re lucky if kids’ books written in ‘verse’ don’t have glaring scansion hiccups. Shame on them!

  2. lifelessons says:

    The fault with those who rhyme is that they can
    not often write a line that you can scan.
    It takes more jostling than a first-time write
    to get those iambs absolutely right!

    Of course I am not talking about you, Helen. Your scansions is perfecto. And, I must admit to throwing in an anapest now and then just for variety.

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 14 – “Flowing With Affection” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

