Daily prompt: If only I could fool me as well as I fool you

DAILY PROMPT
Nerve
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

Every so often one of these prompts hits a nerve, and it’s been my policy to avoid it or evade it to maintain my image of being gung-ho and invulnerable. And what a load of b/s that really is.

I suppose it’s in there somewhere or I couldn’t dig it up on demand: an alter-ego that shoots its opinionated mouth off and has a bit of a slash and burn to pretend it’s courageous and undaunted. But it doesn’t fool me. One of my cousins pointed out not long ago that in childhood, I was the shadow in the background, and in the flesh and blood reality of who I am, nothing much has changed. I am not a hermit for nothing.

And the truth is that sometimes, keeping up this online facade is an effort too far. Sometimes I want to sit here and weep all over the page about my lack of confidence, my failures, the loneliness of knowing that as a person, I have nothing to offer. But as my mother used to say, we have our pride.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/nerve/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily prompt: If only I could fool me as well as I fool you

  1. Keep writing! You have a voice and it should be heard!

  2. I admire your writing and envy your ability. Weep if you like, but please write about it. 🙂

  3. Relax... says:

    There comes a day when we become the mother (aunt/grandmother/whomever) to ourself. We ourself make the rules, make the maxims, re-write the same-ol’ same ol’ that ever cowed or caged us, and start to live as free and wild as we’d like. We don’t need pride — we only need something fattening!

  4. You must have something to offer because I’m here and so are a lot of other people. I think, perhaps, you are underestimating your value to others.

  5. lifelessons says:

    Helen… you are one of the blogs I always read when I see your name and I have exquisite taste, so you must be wrong! Vulnerability adds an irresistible spice to one’s writing. Don’t stop.

  6. Dear everyone, thank you all so much. I am stunned at your responses. Pretty speechless, really. But please know that they mean so much more than you probably think.

Leave a Reply

