Daily prompt: Living on the edge

DAILY PROMPT
Edge
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI live on the edge of Australia. If I climb to the top of this hill (which I haven’t done for a while because it is steep and I am oldish) and then dive off… the first thing that happens is that I break my back, my neck and every other bone in my body landing on the rocks at the bottom of the cliff.

But if I manage to dive out far enough to overcome this pesky little problem and start swimming – and provided I develop superpowers that allow me to swim about 7000 miles through the untold perils of the South Pacific Ocean – I will hit dry land again in Chile.

At this point I will doubtless be met with cries of excitement – a previously-undiscovered sea monster unique in shape (from having been nibbled en route) with prune-like skin remnants between encrustations of giant barnacles – and whipped off to the nearest Centre for Marine Biology to be analysed, studied and probably kept in a pool and fed live fish, being unable to communicate because my voice box is pickled from overlong exposure to salt water, and anyway, I don’t speak the language.

There are helicopters buzzing about at the moment, which makes me wonder whether someone younger than I has pinched my idea and set off on this wonderful adventure without informing the authorities of their superpowers , thereby triggering an unnecessary air-sea search.

On the other hand, the helicopters may be up there shark spotting.

The edge of Australia is bursting with potential and full of excitement.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/edge/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily prompt: Living on the edge

  1. You would also make the Guinness book of World Records for the longest swim by a human being ever. And you would probably be VERY clean.

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 7 – “The Endless Beauty Of An Authentic Voice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

