Daily prompt: Write and read

DAILY PROMPT
Handwriting
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

After I turn my computer off at night, I usually have a last cup of coffee (don’t bother going tut tut) either sitting on the balcony looking at the stars (summer) or standing in the kitchen looking at the stars through the window (winter), and if I’ve been working on something (like, say, a short story) this pause between jeans and pyjamas seems to be when I get my best ideas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo a lot of the junk you’ll see on my desk at any one time (pick a day, pick a time, you’ll still hit the jackpot) is guaranteed to be those ideas scribbled on the backs of envelopes (unopened, quite often – they’re all bills) or if it happens to come to hand, the memo pad that floats around among the flotsam.

And yes, you’ve guessed it – more often than not, retrieving these creative gems is akin to code cracking in the morning, particularly if I’ve turned out the lights before the idea hits.

But I am still capable of writing legibly. My chief downfall is abbreviation. A shopping list can turn into a guessing game, and those things scrawled on the kitchen whiteboard can provide hours of mental exercise.

Which is all to the good, really. Exercising my brain is of more long-term benefit than exercising my digits.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/handwriting/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily prompt: Write and read

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 2 – “Some Of Us Die Heroes” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

