Daily prompt: Give it a go!

DAILY PROMPT
Tricky
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

It’s tricky being an Australian on an American blog site. In a nutshell, the US matters in the world and Australia doesn’t*, which means what happens here doesn’t filter across the Pacific so there’s no point in my writing about it.
*I don’t say this with any sense of resentment or inferiority. It’s merely a fact which I accept like breathing.

But as well as that, there are a lot more differences between us than you probably imagine. Politically, judicially, culturally and educationally, our systems are quite different, so if I talked about ours, you wouldn’t know what I was on about when it came to the nitty gritty.

But then you probably don’t know what I’m talking about half the time anyway. Thongs here go on the feet, after all, and as for chooks… Do you know what a chook is?

So just by way of entertainment, I thought I’d offer up a bit of  good Ozzie lingo…

The yobbo in budgie smugglers chucked a wobbly, nicked a tinnie and buggered off to woop woop with the esky and all the snags, so the stubbies got warm and the sangers were like stale bikkies. Then one of the relos came a gutser and split his skull, but the ambos had buckleys of getting there (they were flat out at a prang near the servo on the main drag), so one of his mates (an old bloke built like a brick shit house) stuck him in the back of a ute and hoped he wouldn’t cark it before they got to A&E.  Not happy, Jan!

 …and wait eagerly for the translation.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/tricky/

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Daily prompt: Give it a go!

  1. We aren’t all quite that ignorant. Some of us even have had Aussie friends and have lived outside the U.S. Honest! And know what a parliamentary system is and everything. But I do love your slang. You have the BEST slang of any English-speaking country.

  2. Interesting. But I am completely lost in the ozzie lingo. May I ask, is this used in academic environment?

  3. Ruth says:

    What a great post – absolutely love it! 🙂

  4. Havent a clue. Understanding how anyone under thirty thinks is tough enough.

  5. Monicle says:

    I understand most of it and I’m Canadian! There’s some old cockney in there. Me old Grandad from Yorkshire sounded a lot like that.
    I often forget ‘thongs’ are now ‘flip-flops’ and get looks of horror.

  6. Modern thongs came from here (NZ I think) long before the underwear hit the market, so why the northern hemisphere changed the name to flip flops I’ll never know!

  7. angloswiss says:

    First of all Gidday
    I don’t have big problems with the understanding, more perhaps with the timing. I have often wondered how it must be down under when everything is the other way round uploading a blog on a site from the States. Of course I know what a billabong is and a coolabar tree. We had to learn Waltzing Matilda at school. I must admit your Australian slang was a little to advanced for my mere British knowledge.
    On the ovver ‘and, I’m a full blooded cockney from Befnal Green in London and ‘ave a bit of a theory abaht the Aussie slang. There was a time when most of the criminals in England, London specifically, came from the working class areas of London and spoke cockney. What did they do with this riffraff? They were shipped off to Australia after being tried and found guilty. So we have a bunch of cockneys in a new country, just inhabited by kangaroos, koala bears, wombats, dingos and platypus. Of course there were aborigines, but that is a another stain on the reputation of the british colonists in the treatment they gave them. We now have all these cockneys and over the years they kept their speech with a few changes. I would speak cockney if at home with my family in London, and am of the opinion that the Australian sound of the english language is very similar. Of course Aussie english is Aussie english, but I do hear some cockney intonations in the speech.

    • You’re right about the timing. If I stay up late enough, I can respond to the new prompt before I go to bed, but mostly, I’m answering what to me is a prompt dated yesterday, long after everyone else has done it an moved on. If you see what I mean!
      You’re right about the Cockney as well. Its flavour is still there, in the irreverence as well as the language of our lawless forefathers!

  8. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 7 – “The Endless Beauty Of An Authentic Voice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  9. My friends just got home from a month long visit to Australia. I was surprised to see a pic of a B behind the wheel, cop standing by administering a random breathalyzer test. Random testing doesn’t happen here unless you’re stopped for some other infraction first.
    He passed, by the way.

Leave a Reply

