Daily prompt: Sog

DAILY PROMPT
Snap
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

Sog v.i. to lie around doing nothing much.
(Madgwick/Meikle dictionary of Family Vernacular)
Origin: Q. Why do you like Weetbix?
 A. They don’t snap, crackle and pop, they just lie there quietly and sog.

 Which imo has a lot to be said for it. I do not want a breakfast cereal that greets me with nauseating chirpiness when I stagger bleary-eyed and grumpy from my bed. And the family version of sogging has a lot to be said for it too. It’s what you do when your energy’s run out, there’s nothing urgent on the list and all you want to do is…well, sog.

Sog doesn’t appear in normal dictionaries, which just goes to show that even dictionaries aren’t infallible. It’s a wonderful word, irreplaceably onomatopoeic. Nothing else quite describes that glorious surrender to blob-like inertia. It’s also an antonym of snap if you wish to be picky about the prompt for today’s blog (which rhymes with sog, and you can never have too many options when it comes to rhymes).

Snap, on the other hand, isn’t a word I regard with great affection, even when it’s not associated with morning assaults on my nerves. It’s sharp, and it usually implies speed – not something that’s ever come naturally. Snap to, snap it up, make it snappy… And also bad temper, in dogs as well as humans who’ve run out of patience. What’s to like about that?

But human nature is infinitely diverse, and I’m sure some people adore all the implications of snap and live their lives by them, forever bustling about being energetic and decisive. Good luck to you, I say. I’m sure you’ll achieve far more than I ever will. But a good sog soothes the spirit and calms the soul.  I’m happy with that.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/snap/

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily prompt: Sog

  1. Monicle says:

    I’m glad to read this. I love to sog. My sister is a snap….. its tiring. She makes me want to sog even more.

  2. I have to admit that though I appreciate Rice Crispies, when I used to eat them, I let them sit until they shut up. I can’t eat things that are still alive.

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 15 – “A Second Shot at Redemption” – A Poetic Duet by TooFullToWrite & A Shade Of Pen | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

