Daily prompt: You think it’s yours? Ha!

DAILY PROMPT
Borrowed
Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. 

Everything’s borrowed, when you think about it. We come in with nothing, and however much we accrue during our lives, it all gets left behind when we snuff it, returning to the giant ocean of human stuff to be treasured, ignored, used or abused by someone else.

This isn’t something you’re likely to appreciate when you’re young. Owning is very important: a house, money, all those goodies that supposedly make life easier. And there’s no doubt they do. But as you get older, you start to realise that enough is enough: that in the end, your genes and the person you are – your influence for good or evil – are the only things you ever really own in perpetuity.

This is particularly obvious with the very rich (need I say) who knock themselves out making money and using it to surround themselves with the best of everything. But in the end, they’ll be just as dead as I’ll be when the time comes, and I can guarantee that their dust or ashes won’t smell any sweeter than mine, and that all that money won’t have bought them a cushier niche in the hereafter from which to watch what they thought were ‘their’ possessions scattered to the four winds. Or possibly held tight to the chests of heirs and assigns wondering about a benefactor who never had time to know them.

One of the silliest examples of trying to hang onto worldly goods was the gold casket in which Carl Williams was interred. (Or not. Burying it would have been an invitation to every crim in Melbourne to dig it up again.) Williams was Melbourne’s one-time drug kingpin, bashed to death in prison when he was three years into a life sentence for four murders. (The four of which he was convicted. He was suspected of at least six others.) All the money he’d ‘borrowed’ didn’t save his hide, and I don’t imagine the gold casket saved his soul. But there it was, imported from the US for the occasion to set him apart from lesser corpses. I don’t’ know for a fact, of course, but I do strongly suspect that it didn’t make a lot of difference.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/borrowed/

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Daily prompt: You think it’s yours? Ha!

  1. Actually, I think caskets of any kind are an absurd waste of resources. Otherwise, I’ve always wondered when enough is enough. I’m pretty okay with having a comfortable place to live and enough to eat. I may yearn for enough money to fix things when they break and buy the meds I need, but I don’t need luxuries. I think most people are not crazed with greed … despite TV and Hollywood. Maybe I’m just a cock-eyed optimist.

    • No, I don’t think that’s cock-eyed. Most people are happy with enough to meet their needs. The stupidity is with those who dedicate their lives to acquiring more houses – boats – cars – jets – spare cash than they could possibly use/spend in several lifetimes and can’t see that in the end it’s all completely irrelevant.

  2. Sweet post. If more people could think as you do in this post, the world would be better for all. Greed has consumed some people’s hearts and they have no place in it again for love and sharing.

  3. SITR Admin says:

    I have to meet you over coffee someday :).

  4. Gold platrd I’d bet. All fpr show like most of the othet “stuff.”

  5. I agree — but some of my “material goods” specifically art supplies and some books, well, it bothers me that I can’t just absorb them into me and have them forever, if that makes any sense. It’s as if they are “more” than just things and I dread them ending up in the Nazarene Thrift Store down there on 1st Ave when I’m gone. Worse still, Rainbow’s End which smells like the dank basement of everyone’s parents and their pack-a-day habit. I’m going to have to find a worthy young artist to give them to ahead of time.

    • Makes absolute sense. There are some things I’d hate to see go to just anyone. I console myself with the thought that I’ll be dead and won’t know. Or in more optimistic moments, that a kindly fate will steer them to someone who’ll love them and benefit from them. But mostly the ‘I’ll be dead’ option.

  6. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 24 – “Existential Asides” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

