Daily prompt: Avoiding foot-in-mouth disease

DAILY PROMPT
Embarrassing

The best way to avoid embarrassing yourself is to steer clear of social interaction. It’s worked for me for years.

You possibly think I’m joking, but not so. Apart from pleasant friendly chats with local shopkeepers, the librarian etc, I drift through my days in blissful solitude, thus bypassing the risk of having to dig my foot from my mouth.

It could well be that my fellow townsfolk see me as the local eccentric or even the resident mad lady, but that’s fine. I’m clearly harmless and don’t scare the tourists away, so they don’t care and neither do I.

I do have one regular visitor – a tourist who comes here twice a year and calls to see me each time. I’m not sure if she sees me as her biannual social work, but on careful consideration, I don’t think so. It’s more likely that I’m a listening ear when her husband is out kayaking. She talks and I listen, which suits us both – although it does get a bit boring when she tells long stories about people I don’t know. But at least you don’t get into dangerous territory when you’re only smiling and nodding.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/embarrassing/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily prompt: Avoiding foot-in-mouth disease

  1. Blogging works for me. We do see people occasionally (live ones), but everyone is getting old and no one wants to drive long distances. And many of us are having medical problems, so this stuff is getting to be pretty rare. I don’t miss it nearly as much as I think I should.

Leave a Reply

