Daily prompt: No thanks, not again

DAILY PROMPT
Youth

Ah the joys of youth!

That gigantic con. That rose-coloured myth perpetuated by those with short memories, a fear of exposing their less-than-stellar adolescence, or a craving for nostalgia so acute that truth is irrelevant.

OK, it has its upsides: less responsibility, BFFs, the world at your feet, moonlight and roses, the intoxication of romance…

…provided you don’t remember the agonies of acne, the crippling fear of inadequacy, the angst and the heartbreaks.

Or maybe that’s only me.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/youth/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily prompt: No thanks, not again

  1. You put that very succinctly.
    Oh, the nightmare of youth…

  2. I think we brainwash the young into seeing it as a great time so they’ll find the stamina to survive it. I remember when I was in high school my mom saying, “These are the greatest years of your life!” Yeah…my dad in and out of the hospital, arriving home to find an ambulance in my driveway to take him to the hospital, my mom angry at me 9/10ths of the time, the problems of “luv”, questions about my future, it was GREAT and that’s just part of it…

    • Monicle says:

      Once I heard my sister tell my niece, “these are the best years of your life..” I jumped in, “They are not! They are the worst years for some people!” No wonder there are so many teen suicides if they think it’s only going to get worse.

      • Amen. I didn’t have kids, but I taught college and I spent a lot of time talking to kids who had problems and wanted to talk to me. I never said, “These are the best years of your life” but many of them had parents who had. They said what you just said, “If these are the best years, I don’t know if I want to live any more.” Those kids got a little walk to the counseling center along with me saying, “It gets better. We learn more skills for life all the time; hang in there.”

    • If those had been the best years of my life, I’d be dead by now for sure. Fortunately for me, my parents never pretended they were and told me instead ‘It gets better’.One of the worst things, I think, is that you can’t imagine it ever will, being not yet quite past the stage when ‘now’ is all there is. My eldest grandson couldn’t imagine he’d ever love again when his girlfriend broke his heart last year and he went through all that ‘what’s wrong with me’ torture we all remember so well. The number of teen suicides is growing, I understand – presumably a combination of ‘now’ being hell, the pressure to do well ‘or else’ increasing, and the future looking less attractive by the minute.

      • Yes. The pressure is way too intense: “If you don’t get all As you can forget having a career.” In the last few years of my teaching career, I taught lots of young people who’d been raised believing that. My heart went out to them because that pressure didn’t help them learn, and it deprived them of happiness, courage and curiosity. 😦

  3. Monicle says:

    I hear our summer students groaning about starting lives working forty hours a week for the next 40 years. I don’t envy them one bit.

  4. Noah Weiss says:

    The downplay of “nostalgia” was something that I learnt about last year (and recently reflected on as I transcribed the journal of the day when that discussion happened). Nostalgic, fleeting memories might only capture the best snapshots, while ignoring the worst of, say, one’s youth as you mention.

Leave a Reply

