Daily prompt: A refusal to be careful what I say about American politics

DAILY PROMPT

Careful

I should be careful what I say, here. I am an alien. An outsider, with no right to comment on American politics. But what happens in America doesn’t stay in America. We – the rest of the world – are at the mercy of American voters almost as much as Americans are, given the impact the outcome of this election will have on global politics and global finance. So this IS my business. That’s the price you pay for the privilege of being the most influential nation in the world.

Besides that, I’m feeling reckless. It’s one of those days. If you wish to slice me into little pieces and feed me to Donald Trump…I’m ready. With a bit of luck, I’ll give him terminal indigestion.

If America had put its entire population through a sieve, it’s unlikely they’d have found a less palatable candidate for the Presidency than Donald J Trump.

Or that’s what I thought. Until I read Jon Voigt’s response to Robert De Niro’s anti-Trump rant, in which Voigt said “I don’t know of too many men who haven’t expressed some sort of similar sexual terms toward women, especially in their younger years.” And then I looked at the profiles of those with whom Trump had exchanged his jolly sexual banter, and realised they were all cut from the same cloth: the very expensive cloth worn by America’s social and financial elite: by the people who like it or not, control upper-echelon American politics. By overgrown frat boys.  And studies show that fraternity men are three times more likely to commit rape than other men on college campuses, and women in sororities are 74% more likely to experience rape than other college women.

According to media reports and interviews, one of Trump’s most popular characteristics is his ‘honesty’. I find this very disturbing. What it suggests is that the American public knows that the private morals of its leaders are likely to be questionable, and is simply grateful to be told upfront and in advance.

There are those who would argue that the private morals of public figures are entirely their own business. I don’t agree. Intentionally or not, they have set themselves up as role models and must take the responsibilities inherent in that. They must set a good example. I find it immeasurably sad that so many Americans no longer have this expectation, and consequently unsurprising that American society is becoming increasingly confused.

Nor am I surprised that Barrack Obama was thwarted at every turn. He is not ‘one of them’, racially or socially. He is not a ‘frat boy’ – unlike nine of the thirteen presidents since WW ll. He had a genuine desire to help those less fortunate. The establishment does not see this as necessary or desirable.

Donald Trump is not only crude, rude and socially unattractive, he has the conscience of a spoiled two-year-old, the aspirations of Idi Amin and the diplomacy of a rhinoceros mid-stampede. He is such a racist, sexist, xenophobic atrocity that if I were entitled to vote, I’d rather stay away from the polls than vote for him (which is quite something when I consider voting a basic responsibility for anyone enjoying the privileges of democracy).

But neither am I enthralled by the thought of the alternative. Hillary Clinton may have more diplomacy and political know-how in her little finger than Trump has in his entire being, which has to be a giant plus on her side of the ledger. But it also enables her to play political games with consummate ease and finesse – a form of dishonesty rampant in politics worldwide, but no less abhorrent for that. And I ask myself whether her endorsement by the Democratic Party is her reward for tacitly condoning her husband’s bad behaviour during his occupation of the Oval Office. Is the whole election in fact an exercise in elitist back-scratching that has nothing to do with good of the nation? Or, indeed, the world.

If Donald Trump wins the Presidential election, there will be chaos. But if Hillary Clinton wins, there may also be chaos given that the election itself has divided the nation so bitterly. And if the Republican Party shuffles Ted Cruz out in Trump’s place, I can only hope you like machine-gun bacon.

This election has the riveting magnetism of those ten seconds before the trains collide. But perhaps that’s what it will take to break the stranglehold the elitist establishment has on America.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/careful/

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily prompt: A refusal to be careful what I say about American politics

  1. Love it Now says:

    wow, straight to the point and excellent writing 🙂

  2. AprilEsutton says:

    Many are talking about leaving the country if Trump is elected. Staying married after affairs is not condoning the behavior. Republicans could revise the tax code now, but they are afraid President Obama, a Democrat, would get the credit. Politics sucks!

    • Politics sucks everywhere! Don’t think people will leave the country, though. A term is only four years. No, I don’t think staying married after affairs is necessarily condoning the behaviour, but I think for someone who wants to be seen as a role model for women, it’s a grey area – particularly in the light of the condemnation of Trump’s behaviour.

  3. Kiersten says:

    Hi there! This article could not be written any better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I will send this information to
    him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thanks
    for sharing!

Leave a Reply

