Daily prompt: Waiting for that magic moment

DAILY PROMPT
Luck

With a bit of luck, before I run out of milk for my coffee there’ll be a long enough break in the weather for me to get to the shop and back.

It’s been raining here now for…I don’t know. A week? Ten days? Forever? But today is a right doozie. It’s not just raining, it’s also blowing a gale that makes my screen door shriek even though the main door is shut.

But hey, at least I’m not trying to pack my car to go home (being at home already). That was the banging and thumping that woke me this morning: the poor guy who’d been renting the unit downstairs for a week trying to pack his stuff in the back of his ute in the teeth of a wind determined to grab anything not tied down.

One of the local gurus predicted months ago that there’d be flooding in March. He hasn’t been wrong in 60 years and probably won’t be this time, but luckily for me, it won’t matter much one way or the other.

I’m never going to have the sort of luck that wins the lottery, but so far I’ve been lucky enough to have the wherewithal, one way or another, to survive those nasty little tests the gods dump on us from time to time. And from my ripe old age, you can’t ask for much more than that…

Except an ongoing supply of milk. And coffee.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/luck/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily prompt: Waiting for that magic moment

  1. gauriparvati says:

    Milky Luck , wouldn’t you say ? Pun intended .

  2. Me too and I’m more grateful for that kind of luck than I will ever be able to express. I NEVER take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

