Daily prompt: You say tomayto…

DAILY PROMPT
Ordinary

If I said to you, The weather today is pretty ordinary, would you get what I meant? ie not ordinary in the sense of normal, but ordinary as in uninspiring. (Which it is, by the way: grey and flat.)

This is tricky, you see. Because American culture is the world’s most pervasive, and because I read a lot, follow world news, see American film and TV productions (and belong to this American site with predominantly American members), I am regularly exposed to the differences in language and vernacular. But I can’t possibly grasp the lot.

And furthermore, the same is not true in reverse: you are not exposed to Australian culture in the same way.  (Why should you be? We’re pretty small beer.) So I’m never quite sure where we overlap and where we don’t.

Some things are obvious.
Ambos
Firies
Garbos
Chooks
Bogans
Stoked
Macca’s
Woop Woop
And thongs, of course, which I’ve never really understood since the ubiquitous, basic rubber flip flop first popped up in New Zealand and to them and to us, they will always be thongs.

I don’t suppose you spit the dummy, either, since you don’t call them dummies and ‘spit the pacifier’ doesn’t have quite the same ring to it.

Anyway, I’m going to bugger off now.

Hooroo.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/ordinary/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily prompt: You say tomayto…

  1. Susannah says:

    Well, that was fun! I had to look up all but two or three of the words in your list. And here in Canada, thongs are tiny patches of cloth worn as ladies’ undies, held together by narrow bits of cloth and worn by women who don’t mind feeling their underwear stuck between their buttocks. Eliminates the panty line, they say. Personally, I don’t care about the panty line, but I’m pretty long in the tooth and can’t see the use of underwear that doesn’t cover the flab. 🙂

    • 🙂 You and the rest of the world agree that a thong is is what we’d call a g-string – which by either name looks diabolically uncomfortable and I never, ever want to go there. Fortunately with my length of tooth, anything tight enough to require elimination of the panty line would definitely look like lumpy old mutton dressed as lamb, so the problem will never arise!

  2. My neighbor and friend here is Australian. I’m down with Chooks and Dummies. I don’t know when thongs became flip-flops here, but they did. Anyway, if I ever get to ‘straya, I might be able to understand a little something now and again.

  3. Aunt Beulah says:

    Your list sent me a-googling with interesting results; and your mention of thongs filled me with a sense of relief. I thought I was the only person alive who still pictures rubber flip flops when I read or hear the word thong, because that is what flip flops were called when I bought my first pair in 1959, and forever shall they retain the label now given to uncomfortable underwear. As i remember, the flip flops of the fifties were rather uncomfortable as well.

    • I think the name change might have been America’s attempt to make them their own, but we Downunder will always know the truth! Like when Decker’s tried to patent the name Ugg as exclusively theirs. You’re kidding! Australia and New Zealand had been making ugg boots for years before an Australian surfer sold the first few pairs in the US.

Leave a Reply

