Daily prompt: Later…earlier…who knows?

DAILY PROMPT
Later

I got up a lot later than I should have this morning but a lot earlier than my clock said it was, owing to the fact that daylight saving ended last night and I messed it up and put the clock forward instead of back. So when the alarm went off, I looked at the sky and thought Nonsense, it’s nowhere near that time and went back to sleep.

I am not, on the whole stupid. At least that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. But when it comes to the end of daylight saving, I have a mental block that causes my brain to stall and go into freefall, not because I lose/gain/whatever an hour’s sleep, but because at that point I can no longer fool myself that summer is ongoing.

I should have been prepared for it this year given the grizzly weather we’ve been having (no surfing even vaguely possible) but being prepared is like admitting defeat in advance and prolonging the misery, and that would just be silly.

However…

As I lay there last night listening to the clock tick away the (wrong) hours, I decided that this winter would be different. I would defeat it by using hypnosis. Not on the weather, you understand (I wish) but on me.

This is not as woo-woo as it must sound to those of you whose knowledge of hypnosis is coloured by showmen making people cluck like chooks. The first thing you need to realise is that the best hypnotist in the world can’t make even the most perfect subject do anything against their will. In other words, the chooks subconsciously agree to cluck. And if you use it properly, it can – truly – work wonders.

But this ‘doing things against their will’ bit is where my plan might come unstuck. I want to make winter more bearable, but it’s obvious to the meanest intelligence that part of me is stuck on the belief that winter is to be feared, dreaded and at best endured. Resolving this will require a pact between warring parties, which is much easier to negotiate for someone else than for yourself.

Watch this space.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/later/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily prompt: Later…earlier…who knows?

  1. I told my dog, Polar Bear Yeti T. Dog, that winter is coming to Australia as it leaves us here. She wants me to drive her there. :O

  2. lifelessons says:

    Where do you live, Helen? Obviously not in the U.S. as daylight savings ended there weeks ago. It ended on April 1 in Mexico, too, and I was an hour late in checking out of my retal as a result.

  3. lifelessons says:

    Oops.. I’m wrong. We did just go on to DST. And in the states they also went onto it, but a few weeks earlier.

Leave a Reply

