Daily prompt: Simple is good

DAILY PROMPT
Lifestyle

I live a life of wilful sloth and glorious self-indulgence. Whether that qualifies as a lifestyle I have no idea and don’t really care, having been too caught up in doing what needed to be done to keep the boats afloat to investigate the concept of ‘lifestyle choices’ when it popped up as a buzzword back whenever that was.

Fortunately for me, my self-indulgence doesn’t involve food, alcohol or material possessions. If it did, I would be obese, broke and permanently half cut. As it is, I read when I should be sweeping the floor, stay up way past a reasonable bedtime and get up again when the mood takes me, guilt kicks in, or the phone rings – usually option two, because despite the sloth, I do still have Standards, which also ensure that I don’t live in a pigsty. I wouldn’t enjoy that.

So I suppose to that extent I do make lifestyle choices without calling them that, having an inbuilt resistance to fabulous new concepts that turn out to be a new name for the wheel.

In this case, I’ve probably also been put off by the ‘style’ part. I don’t do style except on special occasions, and even then, I find it stressful. If you set out to be stylish, you also set yourself up to be measured against other people’s style monitors, which automatically torpedoes your status as wallpaper.

Wallpaper is good.

Life is good.

Lifestyles are for other people.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/lifestyle/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily prompt: Simple is good

  1. Noah Weiss says:

    I like your thoughts on this. And “no style” is still a style in itself.
    My apartment is mostly bare-bones in terms of decoration too, because the interior-decorator part of my brain is an area of measure zero.

  2. Aunt Beulah says:

    I spent some time this morning browsing the posts you’ve written since my last visit and having an entertaining, rewarding time. Perhaps my favorite is the elegant simplicity of “None,” but I reflected on my life more when I read the thoughts you expressed in “Musing” and “Lifestyle.” I agreed with you preferences in “Deep Evacuation” and laughed at the last line of “Darwin II.” All in all, an enjoyable read this morning. Thank you.

  3. bkpyett says:

    Your lifestyle sounds perfect to me, Helen!

Leave a Reply

