Two questions

I have two questions. I ask them purely because I am curious, and NOT because I have an agenda. Furthermore I am DEFINITLEY NOT a Trump supporter, just in case my questions give you the wrong idea.

  1. Dov Levin (Institute for Politics and Strategy, Carnegie-Mellon University) calculated that between 1946 and 2000, the US attempted to influence the elections of other countries as many as 81 times – and these figures do not include its support of military coups or attempts to overthrow the regime following the election of a candidate the US opposed. Why is Russian interference in the American Presidential election different from US interference in other countries? Size of country? Relative global importance of county?
  2. Given the current prevalence of ‘fake news’ and rumour that seems to shroud the White House in an almost impenetrable fog these days, how will anyone manage to determine for sure whether the President did or didn’t pass on sensitive information to his Russian guests? Who can anyone believe?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two questions

  1. Noah Weiss says:

    Hmm. Given that I am fairly apolitical, I couldn’t answer these questions well, but I have some ideas:

    1) Maybe the media bias for the USA and the idea of the “Global Police Force” that the USA seemed to have in the Industrial Revolution gave some sort of normativity in influencing elections. I wonder how many of them came in trying to instill democracy into a place that had no desire to become a democracy?

    2) That is a very good question, and I don’t have an answer. Perhaps enough pressure will uncover truth… or just more lies.

  2. 1) I am sure many of our elections have been influenced by outside forces. Why wouldn’t they be? What happens here affects what happens in other countries (and vice-versa). I think the WAY our elections seem to have been influenced by Russia is the upsetting factor. It’s pretty difficult to fight internet trolls (one method), and then the whole cyber-spying thing.

    2) I think there are facts that have been spun by various news media in different ways, but the facts are there. And there is a relatively non-biased, informative center line of news media. Most of all, no one can dispute things Trump has actually done or things he’s said with his own mouth (or Twitter finger). The FBI has been investigating his ties to Russian mafia money for a while now. It’s intriguing (scary?) what they’ve uncovered so far.

    • The more time passes, the more I see the internet as a monster unleashed, despite its obvious benefits.
      I hope you’re right about the truth floating to the top. I guess I’m just feeling particularly cynical at the moment.

      • I’ve just had an unpleasant kind of semi-confrontation with a woman whose husband was going to repair my garage. I told them last year their estimate was fine, I’d have the money in May. I have the money. They came back with, “Talk to your insurance company again. Maybe the claim is good, you’ll get enough for a new garage and your rates won’t go up.” I did just that. The appraiser told the insurance company the damage came to a figure less than my deductible and 1/4 these folk’s estimate. This says to me, “Do your own investigation”

        I would not have reached that point if, when the money arrived, they’d done the work instead of NOT showing up at various times they said they would be here and then suggesting I go back to my insurance company. That is greed AND ignoring the “bird in the hand” axiom. The point is the truth might float to the top, but human nature is not all it could be sometimes. The way the Trump supporters deny even the words that come out of his mouth as having been said by him? Who wouldn’t be cynical when so many people cling to illusion BY CHOICE.

  3. Embeecee says:

    I have no idea of a sensible answer to either question. All I can say with certainty is that, given the character of Cheeto, it doesn’t seem a stretch that he’d blab something that’s supposed to be ‘secret’. And who can anyone believe? Trust yourself. To ME? that’s the only person worthy of it in this day and age. All common sense and hard ‘news’ has gone underground, maybe permanently. I do not trust the media, the government nor most anyone. It’s a really dark time in America.

Leave a Reply

