Daily prompt: Anchors

DAILY PROMPT
Unmoored

As I mentioned before, my sister had a major operation last week, and I am now holding firmly to her mooring rope while she floats in a sea of post-operative confusion. All that anaesthetic!

It will pass, and meanwhile I’m reminded yet again (if I needed reminding) how lucky I am to have my own set of anchors: a son and three daughters who aren’t about to let their mother overestimate her strength – despite my constantly telling them I’m a tough old bat with an excellent coping switch! I know they’d take over from me at a moment’s notice if they thought it was necessary, which I know it won’t be, but it’s good to know they’re there.

It’s also proving to be a time full of other people’s care and concern. My sister is highly intelligent, immensely capable, and above all, a good person who doesn’t fully realise how much she is loved. When I am not at the hospital, I am constantly fielding calls from people wanting to know how she is and sending their love. It warms the cockles of my heart.

Politicians might be bastards, but normal people are really good!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unmoored/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily prompt: Anchors

  1. You have got that right. Politicians sacrifice their humanity for the sake of winning — many of them, anyway. We have a couple of good ones in Colorado. I wish your sister a speedy recovery.

  2. Wonderful that you have such a tightly knit family!

  3. Aunt Beulah says:

    I’ve always believed that most people are good and you and your sister seem to fit that description. I’ve even known a few good politicians: mostly on the local or state level.

Leave a Reply

