Daily prompt: When strategy thinks you’re a joke

DAILY PROMPT
Strategy

You know those old M&B-style chestnuts like ‘the gentle breeze ruffling my hair’? Well not anymore. The gentle breeze feels like a blowtorch across my scalp, and ruffling my hair feels like dragging it out by the roots.

Yep, the rot has set in. I’m losing it. The hair, I mean. No surprise, they told me I would. How it happens might be interesting, though. Present indications are that I’ll end up looking like one of those old hippie blokes: bald as a coot on top, with a fringe like a hoola skirt encircling the dome just above my ears and drooping down to about the jawline.

I find I care more than I expected. Not how I look. That’s always been a lost cause. But it was mine, you know? My hair, thick and silver and often a bit wild, and part of me. Part of me. And they’ve taken it away.

I’ll get over it. In the general scheme of things, it’s less than nothing. But today, I am sad.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/strategy/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daily prompt: When strategy thinks you’re a joke

  1. Just don’t put the fringe in a ponytail and you’ll be OK. I think it makes sense to be sad. I think every tangible and inescapeable evidence of the huge challenge your body is going through has to be really difficult. Life is a lot easier when we don’t have to look at things straight on. I wish I could give you some of mine. ❤

    • Aw shucks! I had the cable tie all ready for the ponytail…
      It’s OK, don’t need yours, have done my grieving now and moved on.
      I’m sure all these challenges must be very good for my character, although I’ve thought for some time that if my character still needs that sort of good done to it, I’m a lost cause. 🙂

  2. Jackie says:

    I know it must be devastating but think what you can do with a wig? or hat? Or perhaps you have your own way of coping with the loss. I hope you have a brighter day.

  3. Your hair grows back. I lost mine more than once, so now it’s pretty thin, but for the first few times, he came back better than it was before. Unless you want to deal with a wig, a hat (baseball cap?) works. I had two or three. Hang on in there. You get through it and you come out the other side.

    • Yep, as I keep reminding everyone (and myself!) I’m a tough old bat. Wigs are definitely not me, but two of my daughters have already come up with beanie-style hats, and my d-in-l has lent me two very funky caps. At least it’s summer, so I won’t freeze yet!

  4. rugby843 says:

    It will grow back and maybe a great color, although I love the white silver I’ll never get. I keep telling my daughter those are blond streaks in my red hair. She says, no mom, they’re gray. Well, I tried. Go scarf shopping! They have gorgeous ones out these days and they’re not as expensive as they used to be. Great attitude Helen. Keep checking in. 👍🏻🌸🤗

  5. lwbut says:

    When you find something that looks good till your silver locks return you’ll tell your follically challenged bloging buddies…. won’t you?? 🙂

  6. lwbut says:

    Just dropped by to see what’s new. I’m hoping no news is good news! 😉

    If you feel like some good cheer check out my post: https://lovewillbringustogether.wordpress.com/2018/02/06/is-this-the-happiest-animal-on-earth/

  7. Hey, I love the part about “one of those old Hippy blokes.” That touched a nerve. Nicely written, as always, Helen. And spirited. “Old Hippy” that I am, I send good vibes your way every morning at my touchstone.

  8. lwbut says:

    Still thinking about you and wishing the best for your full recovery! 😉

  9. Embeecee says:

    I am supposed to notify you that I’ve nominated you for The Mystery Blogger award. This doesn’t require any action on your part, unless you’re interested in participating. If so, you can go to my post:
    http://sparksfromacombustiblemind.com/2018/03/18/award-time-2/
    and see what I’m talking about. Thanks for providing me with such interesting reading material all the same! 🙂

  10. rugby843 says:

    Dear Helen,
    Haven’t seen you around. Hope you’re doing okay with the treatments, etc and you’re too busy to write a blog anymore. Thinking of you🌸

Leave a comment