Daily prompt: If I knew that…

DAILY PROMPT: BYOB(OOKWORM)
Write the blurb for the book jacket of the book you’d write, if only you had the time and inclination
.

This is a case of the spirit and the flesh both being willing, and the brain having packed it in.

Not permanent, I hope, but who knows? Maybe my first novel – apart from those unsuccessful attempts to write Mills and Boone, for which I was laughably unqualified given my memory of romance had been buried under subsequent events, and my attempts to wax lyrical at length about male and female anatomy and the heights of orgasmic bliss reduced me to helpless mirth with occasional twinges of nausea…

Where was I? Oh yes, maybe my first novel will also be my last. Shame, if true, because the months writing it were happy-as-a-pig-in-mud time, and I’d like some more.

Story, my son tells me, is everything – which is true enough when you consider those writers whose ignorance of language and syntax is just plain scarifying, but who nevertheless top the bestseller lists because they can spin a good yarn.

And story is what I’m sadly lacking.

Write what you know, They tell you – in that wonderfully enthusiastic tone used by Theys around the world to convince you snake oil tastes like chocolate and will guarantee world peace. But I’m not fooled. What I know is as fascinating as watching snails sleep, except for the bits I have no intention of revisiting even in the interests of creative inspiration. I’m not a masochist.

So I’ve struck out on this one. Time and inclination – yes: content – no.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/daily-prompt-books-2/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily prompt: If I knew that…

  1. M. R. says:

    “consider those writers whose ignorance of language and syntax is just plain scarifying, but who nevertheless top the bestseller lists”. What I want to know is what their bloody publishers think they were doing, letting this stuff get through without editing …

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: BYOB(ookworm) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. That’s me too. I really want to write, but my content bag is empty.

  4. Pingback: My Book: Criminal Acts – Slaves of the High (Book One) | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

