Daily promp: Weighing it up

DAILY PROMPT: WALKING ON THE MOON
What giant step did you take where you hoped your leg wouldn’t break? Was it worth it, were you successful in walking on the moon, or did your leg break?

It’s Monday, clouds sit like a fire blanket poised to smother the first spark of joy, tomorrow I’ll drive 500km for the scalpel-to-the-eye job postponed from two weeks ago for reasons I’m sure I’ll never be told (did the surgeon develop palsy?) and you’re asking me to wax eloquent on the subject of risk.

I’d really rather not.

But then again, what the hell? The risks, after all, are minimal.

Despite a tendency in some of my children to spook themselves when I drive 500km on the open road, it’s not unreasonably risky. My car may be 17 years old, a bit battered and not blessed with power steering, but it’s mechanically fit (thank you SWR Tyrepower) and more solid than its younger brethren. The road is good these days, and the other idiots on it (yes, second daughter, I do notice your use of ‘other’) are reasonably well behaved provided you don’t travel at night, when anything goes among the heavy transports on ridiculous schedules. The main problem is boredom (and yes, son and third daughter, I know Bluetooth is standard in modern vehicles, but I don’t have $20,000 to shell out for the privilege of having it.)

So that’s the drive disposed of, what about the eye job? Cataracts are two-a-penny, I’m told, although these days it’s a helluva lot more pennies than that, might I say. Still, it’ll all be worth it. Funny, though. When I thought it was just a matter of new glasses, the fuzzy edges and unreadable words were an irritation I’d deal with when I had time. Now they’re a right bugger requiring constant use of the magnifying glass. Good thing I didn’t run with the idea of delaying the procedure until winter on account of missing good surf time. I’d have been blind as a bat by then.

Still, I’d rather stay home and sog.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/23/daily-prompt-moon-walking/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Daily promp: Weighing it up

  1. I look forward to hearing how great it is to see everything all crisp and clear again.

  2. Relax says:

    Me, too, Helen. You’re in my thoughts.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snapshot: Walking on the Moon | Tommia's Tablet

  4. Pingback: Walking On The Moon – You Kidding! | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Thanks, both of you. I’m sure it will be wonderful. It’s the hassle involved that really bugs me.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt Catch-up: Walking on the Moon | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  9. Outlier Babe says:

    This is the first post of yours I’ve read, and it is thoroughly irksome to someone of my low maturity level. The writing is so artful (no, not a sneaky left-handed compliment, but a direct and true one) and accomplished, and one must therefore admit there is yet ANOTHER damned blogger who is thoroughly talented at this writing thing–then, to look over to the right and see that you make your living writing–well, no surprise. And yet, in a way, it is. How can ANYone make money writing, with all these amazing writers orgiastically pumping each other’s (insert your own censored noun here) online by reading each other’s posts and commenting on them–Who among them could find the time to write other material, or read any? I’m beginning to suspect you all have a secret Tardis stashed somewhere to use to your unfair time advantage. Hiding it from we lesser pen-wielders–For shame!

    Oh, yes: Liked the post–particularly the comments and asides re: your children : )

    • You have no idea how much it means to me that someone actually thinks I have writing talent! Contrary to what you might think, I don’t have many followers, and certainly none to orgiastically pump any part of my person, psyche or blog output. As for the ‘freelance writer’ bit – that was a cheeky flash in pan to boost my meagre income between retirement and pension age. I’ve certainly been writing all my life – it’s what I do, like breathing – but raising and supporting 4 kids didn’t leave much room for taking myself seriously. So to have someone say I’m good at it – thank you a million times!

  10. Outlier Babe says:

    First, you’re most welcome. Just re: followers: There really are so many wonderful writers I’ve bumped into accidentally and such a dwindling pool of readers, and readers of intelligent material–and even those are so swamped for time–well, to pick up a busload of followers is nothing short of miraculous, as far as I can see. I am already trying NOT to follow more blogs, no matter how amazing, because I then must compulsively read everything and get nothing done (being a teensy OCD, as we Aspies tend to be), and I would rather not follow, and dip in and and sample at times, then follow and then later have to un-follow–how hurtful would THAT be??

    Also, read something about this–one tends, as one gets a couple of followers, to hunger after more, and more, and haunt the Stats for hits, and try to write to engorge the Stats–well, not ALL bad, because writers ARE writing for an audience, but we need to remember we are writing for each piece also, and for our nature, and our voice–all of these–or whatever (I haven’t edited this, but you get the drift). I guess I’m saying–hoping–that if you write it right, they will come? And if they don’t, maybe they are too busy writing their own blogs : ( Or, you’re / I’m just a niche writer, and we’re making the lives of our fewer followers happy–that is not a bad thing, either : )

  11. I don’t look at the stats, so I’m saved that blow to the ego. As you said, I just go on hoping I’m making a few follwers happy, writing the way I want to write, and leaving it at that!

  12. bkpyett says:

    Helen I really enjoy your amazing writing. It’s a gift and I’m thrilled to follow your blog.
    Thank you for following mine too. I do hope your recuperation is successful and swift….
    best wishes,
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

