Daily post – Rock: Beware of fakers

I’m going to plead the Fifth, here. At least I think that’s what I’m doing. There’s no equivalent in Australia, so I’m not intimately acquainted with it – that thing you do to avoid incriminating yourself. If you’ve ever been in that situation, which I haven’t…

Anyway, I think this asking for help business is one of THOSE questions: the sort that has shrinks licking their pencils in anticipation (or stroking their gold-plated pens), because whichever way you answer, it’s a psychological minefield. If you’re not self-reliant, it’s because
a) Your childhood needs weren’t met, or
b) You were over-indulged and never learnt to stand on your own feet
and if you’re a rock, it’s because
a) Your childhood needs weren’t met, or
b) You grew up with delusional ideas of your own omnipotence.
Either way, it’s a lose/lose.

So here’s my theory.

Roughly speaking, the world is divided into copers and non-copers, and to hell with the psychological reasoning. But the copers also harbour a sub-category: the non-coping copers. These are the people who cultivate the appearance of non-copers in order to get others to do their dirty work for them.

Don’t fall for it.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/daily-prompt-self/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily post – Rock: Beware of fakers

  1. sierrak83 says:

    Great ending! I wrote about the “non-copers” (as you’ve dubbed them) taking advantage…and how much it peeves me. I haven’t fallen for it….but society as a whole has, and I wish I knew of a way to turn that around. :-/

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Relax says:

    ROFL! That’s so true!

  4. Pingback: I can’t do this by myself | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a comment